Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jul 05, 2012, 03:21 PM
United States, VA, Portsmouth
Joined Apr 2012
108 Posts
Question
Best flying WWII german fighter model

I am sure this has been asked several times before, but I am still rather new to the hobby. I already have a 3DHS pattern plane, a 3d plane, and I did have a sport plane and I really want to add a scale warbird to the fleet. First let me state that this is a plane I want to build from a kit and I am in no rush to complete. I really seem to like the Focke Wulf 190D, but my main concern is with flight characteristics first. I do not mind spending up to a year to complete, as I really enjoy building.
mustangherb is offline Find More Posts by mustangherb
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 05, 2012, 03:34 PM
Ldm
United States, PA, Conestoga
Joined Jun 2006
7,748 Posts
1)its not really what you modle but how you model it .
Great example
1) Top Flight Gold edition P40 kit --heavy , poor design in wing washout , had a history of snapping
2)Top Flight Gold edition ARF ---correct washout , good design , great flyer , so same look , same historical rendition but differant qualities in eah plane .
same holds true with the FW190 .
The ESM ARF is a good flyer , the arf comes in on avg around 14 to 16 lbs , now take the kit version from Dave Platt , great design , great flyer , moderate wing loading .
The key to your kit build or scratch build that related to flying will be
1) wing loading
2) airfoil selected
3)power to weight aspect
the rest is really not relavant on "type of plane"
again , a 79" Foam P40 flies much differant then a kit Built wood/gladd Brian Taylor P40 in the same size , , I think you get my point .
The FW190 has a short nose , so if your really careful in building you can get all your key rc equipment up front , if you can look at my CMP Fw190 bash , everything is on or ahead of the CG in order to advoid adding weight to achieve CG .
Good luck
Ldm is offline Find More Posts by Ldm