Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jan 27, 2012, 09:31 AM
Registered Lunatic
RTRyder's Avatar
Boston, MA
Joined Jul 2010
1,005 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Z06 Tony View Post
This is the 1 alot of guys are using-> http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/sh...om.htm#shutter

Its cheap too. I bought 1 for my NEX-5N but have not used it yet. I know Ken(RtRyder)uses them.
I do, and it works as advertised. I have it setup on a 3 way toggle switch on the TX, off, single shot, and continuous. With the 5N continuous is one shot every 2 seconds or so, that appears to be about as fast as it can cycle when triggered by the I/R but it works fine for aerial shooting. If I were trying to capture actions shots on the ground I'd want it faster, foe use in the air on a multirotor platform it's fine.
RTRyder is offline Find More Posts by RTRyder
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 27, 2012, 12:03 PM
Registered User
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
5,952 Posts
>>Q2: It comes with an IR remote control. Does anybody have a source for a converter to drive the IR via radio? Saw this on other cam projects but haven't found one for the nex5 so far...<<

I use the IR products from GentLED in the UK. I can just use their intervalometer or have my radio control the shutter release when I flip a switch.


http://www.gentles.ltd.uk/gentled/index.htm
SeismicCWave is offline Find More Posts by SeismicCWave
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 12:24 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,218 Posts
Thx again, RTRyder & Seismic!

So it should also be possible to set the Nex5 in "series shoot mode", control the position via video downlink and then trigger the shutter - thus the cam shoots a series of 10 pix or so, right?



Sorry for deviating the thread! But as long as the OP is busy resizing his gimbal for the Nex5 I hope he doesn't mind our chitchat.
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 12:31 PM
Registered User
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
5,952 Posts
>>So it should also be possible to set the Nex5 in "series shoot mode", control the position via video downlink and then trigger the shutter - thus the cam shoots a series of 10 pix or so, right?<<

Sorry, no such luck. On the NEX you can either choose to shoot with a remote trigger or a single frame, multiple frame. You cannot shoot multiple frames and use an IR remote. The only way to shoot multiple frame is to use a servo to push on the shutter release button.
SeismicCWave is offline Find More Posts by SeismicCWave
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 12:58 PM
OS Sponsor
kinderkram's Avatar
Germany, NRW, Dusseldorf
Joined Jun 2010
5,218 Posts
Ok, then the Interval-O-Meter should do ...
kinderkram is offline Find More Posts by kinderkram
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 01:18 PM
manual flying apologist
Adidas4275's Avatar
United States, CA, Fresno
Joined Mar 2011
6,944 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Ok, then the Interval-O-Meter should do ...
I bought this to do some time lapses and the ir shutter they make. I have not got them yet, but hopefully soon
Adidas4275 is offline Find More Posts by Adidas4275
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 02:03 PM
Registered User
Hawaii
Joined Feb 2003
5,952 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Ok, then the Interval-O-Meter should do ...
Yes, that's what I use most of the time. I just set the intervalometer to shoot once every 3 seconds and just fly.
SeismicCWave is offline Find More Posts by SeismicCWave
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 02:55 PM
Registered User
jetbootz's Avatar
Australia, Lord Howe Island
Joined Jan 2010
904 Posts
not sure if this might help AP users, but this is what we all use when skydiving our nex5's... see the link and the videos embedded for how to do it....

basically a wired shutter release for nex5 / 7 / 5n etc..

http://www.gethypoxic.com/reviews-te...the-nex-5.html
jetbootz is offline Find More Posts by jetbootz
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 08:21 PM
Musician-Designer
ozanozkok's Avatar
Türkiye, Istanbul
Joined Mar 2011
463 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by kinderkram View Post
Thx again, RTRyder & Seismic!

So it should also be possible to set the Nex5 in "series shoot mode", control the position via video downlink and then trigger the shutter - thus the cam shoots a series of 10 pix or so, right?



Sorry for deviating the thread! But as long as the OP is busy resizing his gimbal for the Nex5 I hope he doesn't mind our chitchat.
i like this chitchat . i m planing to buy a nex5 ...say me what you know
ozanozkok is offline Find More Posts by ozanozkok
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 08:38 PM
Ready to fly MRs
Sid3ways's Avatar
Swanton, OH
Joined Jul 2007
5,048 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by chatch15117 View Post
hwo do i order a gumball
http://www.amazon.com/Dubble-Bubble-...7718271&sr=8-1

Sid3ways is online now Find More Posts by Sid3ways
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 27, 2012, 08:40 PM
Musician-Designer
ozanozkok's Avatar
Türkiye, Istanbul
Joined Mar 2011
463 Posts
hahahaahahaha....
ozanozkok is offline Find More Posts by ozanozkok
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 28, 2012, 05:15 AM
Musician-Designer
ozanozkok's Avatar
Türkiye, Istanbul
Joined Mar 2011
463 Posts
i d captured a short video.tomorrow i will capture a new.it will be with a tuned controller..
camm.wmv (0 min 19 sec)
ozanozkok is offline Find More Posts by ozanozkok
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2012, 04:25 PM
Musician-Designer
ozanozkok's Avatar
Türkiye, Istanbul
Joined Mar 2011
463 Posts
hi!
i m back home after run for 3 days.i d played bass in 4 musical show and 2 bar programs.finally when i turn back,tuned my paris v3 board and capture 2 videos.

first one is on the radio receiver. i d tested it with standart servos.
-roll axis futaba s3003
-pitch axis hitec hs485hb

copterframes camera mount test 2 (1 min 13 sec)


and the second one is controlled by paris. quad is on my hand and i m shaking it. but i think i d shaked some..

Copterframes camera mount test 1 (0 min 56 sec)


tomorrow i ll mill it for nex5 .and plan to capture some aerial videos.i hope the weather shall be good..
ozanozkok is offline Find More Posts by ozanozkok
Last edited by ozanozkok; Jan 29, 2012 at 05:06 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2012, 05:06 PM
Registered User
Chalfont St Giles, Bucks, UK
Joined Jan 2007
3,186 Posts
Hi ozanozkok.
Thanks for putting up the videos. The last one looks pretty good I hope you get good weather tomorrow and are able to make the time for some on board footage.
From the pictures on your site it looks like you have the Sunnex lens mounted on your gopro. Was you using this in the above videos?

What's the shipping costs for this mount to the UK.?
Paul@SCC is offline Find More Posts by Paul@SCC
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 29, 2012, 05:19 PM
Musician-Designer
ozanozkok's Avatar
Türkiye, Istanbul
Joined Mar 2011
463 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul@SCC View Post
Hi ozanozkok.
Thanks for putting up the videos. The last one looks pretty good I hope you get good weather tomorrow and are able to make the time for some on board footage.
From the pictures on your site it looks like you have the Sunnex lens mounted on your gopro. Was you using this in the above videos?

What's the shipping costs for this mount to the UK.?
thanks..but i know, the previous one is the worst on the planet i d have no time for tuning controller.

tomorrow , i m planing.maybe tuesday.

yes..it is a sunnex.i d captured this videos with it. i m very sad couse i d broke gopro original lens when i work to change it.

our shipping rate is fix up to 1000gr,worlwide $11.
ozanozkok is offline Find More Posts by ozanozkok
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion A new professional camera gimbal (tongue in cheek) SeismicCWave Multirotor Talk 23 Nov 13, 2011 12:48 AM
Discussion What gyros to use on a 2 Axis camera gimbal? Voguna Aerial Photography 0 Mar 13, 2011 11:51 AM