SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 13, 2014, 01:55 PM
Love & a Molotov cocktail
Punkie's Avatar
on a boat on the river cam
Joined Jan 2005
624 Posts
Help!
Dead laptop hard drive.

A while back I was given a Emachines E525 laptop that had died.

For a few weeks it had been running slow and freezing and putting up a harddrive failure warning message.

It got given to me and I stuck it in a cupboard and forgot about it.

Now I would like to get it going, I just tried to fire it up and it eventually started but will not do anything, you can move the mouse about, but it will not click on anything.

The only way to shut it down is to hold the power button down so when you start it up the "Windows was not shut down properly" message comes up.
And you get the choice of safe start up safe start up with prompts ......
I tried to do a safe start and after a while it brought up a message about an external device malfunctioned, possibly through being unplugged, or it could be a hard drive failure.

To me and I am no computer guru it looks like the hard drive has died, if so, is it easy to replace?

Should I open it up, look to see what sort of hard drive is in (Connections) buy something similar, plug it in, download a windows 7 trial thing, burn it to a DVD and reload that and activate it with the licence on the sticker on the bottom of the laptop?

Then download the drivers from Emachines, there seems to be a choice on some of them depending on what is in the laptop (how do I know which ones to load?)
Punkie is offline Find More Posts by Punkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 01:57 PM
Multirotor geek
United States, AZ, Phoenix
Joined Mar 2013
814 Posts
http://www.tomsguide.com/answers/id-...hine-e525.html


https://www.youtube.com/results?sear...laptop+restore

Clyde
kenpoprofessor is online now Find More Posts by kenpoprofessor
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:02 PM
Registered User
Usta Bee's Avatar
Joined Jul 2004
3,775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punkie View Post
Then download the drivers from Emachines, there seems to be a choice on some of them depending on what is in the laptop (how do I know which ones to load?)
When my Emachines computer went on the fritz I had to call Emachines and get a boot disc CD for my computer in order to reinstall all the drivers correctly.
Usta Bee is online now Find More Posts by Usta Bee
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:04 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,426 Posts
Yep - tis easy to replace, Punkie.

Normally, it is under the biggest cover under neath the laptop.

Remove the cover (normally one screw).

Remove the HD drive (probably one or two screws - then pull it backward).

Then do exactly what you said, regarding Win7 re-install.

Hopefully Win7 will sort out all the drivers etc (it's good at that), but come back here if you need any info/help/drivers ('coz I'm sure we can find them for you).

P.S. Install PCWizard - it's free. It'll tell you everything about the details of the components in the PC.
Norman Adlam is offline Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:11 PM
Love & a Molotov cocktail
Punkie's Avatar
on a boat on the river cam
Joined Jan 2005
624 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norman Adlam View Post
Yep - tis easy to replace, Punkie.

Normally, it is under the biggest cover under neath the laptop.

Remove the cover (normally one screw).

Remove the HD drive (probably one or two screws - then pull it backward).

Then do exactly what you said, regarding Win7 re-install.

Hopefully Win7 will sort out all the drivers etc (it's good at that), but come back here if you need any info/help/drivers ('coz I'm sure we can find them for you).

P.S. Install PCWizard - it's free. It'll tell you everything about the details of the components in the PC.
Thanks Norman, I thought I had the right idea, but a bit of reassurance can help.
Punkie is offline Find More Posts by Punkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:15 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punkie View Post
Thanks Norman, I thought I had the right idea, but a bit of reassurance can help.
Everything depends on you having a valid Win7 licence id, Punkie.

If you have any problems, PM me and I'll see what I can do for you (finding drivers etc to send to you).

One thing you could try - do an install with the Win7 disk onto the existing drive. (It may simply be a damaged couple of sectors). The install will keep the existing apps etc. Basically, you have nothing to lose but a bit of time.
Norman Adlam is offline Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:16 PM
Love & a Molotov cocktail
Punkie's Avatar
on a boat on the river cam
Joined Jan 2005
624 Posts
Thanks for those, but the laptop is beyond those fixes, when you can get a windows desktop loaded, you can't actually do anything, nothing, zilch.
Punkie is offline Find More Posts by Punkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:20 PM
Love & a Molotov cocktail
Punkie's Avatar
on a boat on the river cam
Joined Jan 2005
624 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norman Adlam View Post
Everything depends on you having a valid Win7 licence id, Punkie.

If you have any problems, PM me and I'll see what I can do for you (finding drivers etc to send to you).
Well the person I got it from had it from new and it still has the windows7 licence sticker on the bottom with the key.

I have found the drivers on the Emachines site, it is just working out which to load when there are 2 different drivers for the same component but from a different manufacturer.
Punkie is offline Find More Posts by Punkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:35 PM
Love & a Molotov cocktail
Punkie's Avatar
on a boat on the river cam
Joined Jan 2005
624 Posts
Well the physical bit looks easy.

http://acer.custhelp.com/app/answers...25-notebook%3F
Punkie is offline Find More Posts by Punkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:38 PM
Registered User
Usta Bee's Avatar
Joined Jul 2004
3,775 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punkie View Post
Thanks Norman, I thought I had the right idea, but a bit of reassurance can help.
That's one of the great things about the internet.....even though negative news and stories about people NOT getting along get all the headlines there are plenty of people in the world willing to help.

I betcha if you looked up the process on YouTube by searching for something like "replacing Emachines laptop harddrive" there might even be videos of it too.
Usta Bee is online now Find More Posts by Usta Bee
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 02:42 PM
Official Old Git!
Hampshire, UK
Joined Sep 2000
1,426 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punkie View Post
Yup - looks pretty standard, Punkie!
Norman Adlam is offline Find More Posts by Norman Adlam
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 03:06 PM
Registered User
S.F. Bay Area, California, USA
Joined May 2005
721 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Punkie View Post
Thanks for those, but the laptop is beyond those fixes, when you can get a windows desktop loaded, you can't actually do anything, nothing, zilch.
I hate to point out the OBVIOUS, but........

If you can see the windows desktop, then the hard drive is working. If the hard drive was not working, the system wouldn't be able to proceed past the BOIS.
Ken Barnes is offline Find More Posts by Ken Barnes
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 03:18 PM
Love & a Molotov cocktail
Punkie's Avatar
on a boat on the river cam
Joined Jan 2005
624 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ken Barnes View Post
I hate to point out the OBVIOUS, but........

If you can see the windows desktop, then the hard drive is working. If the hard drive was not working, the system wouldn't be able to proceed past the BOIS.
A lot of the time it does not get much past the bios.

When it does it freezes.

At the moment it has had "Starting windows" up for 10 minutes.
Punkie is offline Find More Posts by Punkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 03:27 PM
Love & a Molotov cocktail
Punkie's Avatar
on a boat on the river cam
Joined Jan 2005
624 Posts
Finally started and a message has popped up "Smart event occurred" "A hard drive in the system reports that it may fail in the near future. Click to identify the problem drive".

There is only one hard drive in the laptop.
Punkie is offline Find More Posts by Punkie
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2014, 03:29 PM
Trons and Fumes
wrightme's Avatar
Fallon, NV
Joined Mar 2007
5,044 Posts
If you CAN get it to safe mode or regular mode, see if you can check the disk for errors.

Here is what to try if you can use either a pointing device or keyboard equivalents in the GUI:
http://windows.microsoft.com/en-us/w...isk-for-errors

Here is what you can try if you cannot get it in the gui:

http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/m.../ee872425.aspx
wrightme is offline Find More Posts by wrightme
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
For Sale laptop hard drives Sata interface sagomon Non R/C Items (FS/W) 0 Feb 08, 2014 07:06 PM
Sold 250GB hard drive and 80GB laptop HDD & more GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 4 Sep 05, 2007 11:37 PM
Sold 80GB laptop hard drive. Works great! ** price drop GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 6 Aug 27, 2007 12:04 AM
For Sale 60GB laptop hard drive w USB caddy GFBurke Non R/C Items (FS/W) 2 Aug 09, 2007 12:18 PM
Sold Western Digital Laptop Hard Drive (NEW) NumbSkull Non R/C Items (FS/W) 4 May 25, 2006 04:01 PM