HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Aug 18, 2013, 01:33 PM
It only cost Ģ50 honest!
David Parry's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bracknell
Joined Oct 2007
364 Posts
For those using a Neo 6M gps did you have to change the GPS's config at all?
Need to order one and not sure if it uses a mixture of NMEA and binary or just NMEA.
If not What one should I get? Flytron out of stock.
David Parry is offline Find More Posts by David Parry
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 23, 2013, 02:51 PM
Registered User
absolute-zero's Avatar
Joined Sep 2004
253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by infall View Post
Thanks
I am interested in the OSD, want to test it. I only have minimOSD. Can you tell me, how to upload the firmware and how to use it?
I have just installed DFOSD on a minimOSD, and it works perfect.
Use Arduino 1.0.5 and ISP-Programmer

1. Open Arduino
2. Burn bootloader using programmer
3. Open and upload: Character_Uploader_MinimOSD.ino
4. Reboot OSD
5. Open and upload: MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
6. Reboot OSD

= Working DFOSD on minimOSD
absolute-zero is offline Find More Posts by absolute-zero
Last edited by absolute-zero; Aug 23, 2013 at 02:59 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 03:38 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,424 Posts
Has anyone tried Minimosd code on this hardware?
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 03:12 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,081 Posts
Deleted - misunderstood the question

Nope, don't think anyone have tried the MinimOSD software on this hardware. You can be the first
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 28, 2013, 04:49 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
10 Posts
I try you have to change analog input pins and void MAX7456Configure() and working very well

void MAX7456Configure() {
// todo - automatically recognising card.
if(Settings[S_BOARDTYPE] == 0) { // Rush
MAX7456SELECT = 10; // ss
MAX7456RESET = 6; // RESET
}

if(Settings[S_BOARDTYPE] == 1) { // MinimOSD
MAX7456SELECT = 10; // ss
MAX7456RESET = 6; // RESET
}
}
mateuszganko is offline Find More Posts by mateuszganko
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 07:45 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2010
2,424 Posts
Does auto-baud detection also work for Neo-6m ublox gps?

Mateuszganko do you use this code on Mavlink version (for Arducopter) or MSP version ( for Multiwii)....Do you maybe use "Minim-osd extra" code project?
msev is offline Find More Posts by msev
Last edited by msev; Aug 29, 2013 at 08:04 AM.
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 29, 2013, 05:09 PM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,081 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Does auto-baud detection also work for Neo-6m ublox gps?

Mateuszganko do you use this code on Mavlink version (for Arducopter) or MSP version ( for Multiwii)....Do you maybe use "Minim-osd extra" code project?
It should auto detect baud-rate on all GPS-modules with a UART-output, as long as the signal-strength is within the normal range. A normal 3.3 V device is acceptable as a 3.3V signal will trigger the logic "high" on Atmega328, but if the signal is a lot lower than that, chances are logic levels will not be detected.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Old Aug 30, 2013, 06:35 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
10 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by msev View Post
Does auto-baud detection also work for Neo-6m ublox gps?

Mateuszganko do you use this code on Mavlink version (for Arducopter) or MSP version ( for Multiwii)....Do you maybe use "Minim-osd extra" code project?
Software I use R345 KV TEAM
you need to change analog voltage pin to 0 and change the voltage divider, for example, replace the 10k resistor to 47k because MWS has analog 1V internal reference. Change ISP to FTDI by the way much faster you upload the software


mateuszganko is offline Find More Posts by mateuszganko
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2013, 05:42 AM
David(bg2vcj)
Joined Nov 2008
55 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by absolute-zero View Post
I have just installed DFOSD on a minimOSD, and it works perfect.
Use Arduino 1.0.5 and ISP-Programmer

1. Open Arduino
2. Burn bootloader using programmer
3. Open and upload: Character_Uploader_MinimOSD.ino
4. Reboot OSD
5. Open and upload: MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
6. Reboot OSD

= Working DFOSD on minimOSD
Please Tell me:
1.Arduino 1.0.5 ----tools---Borad---Type
2. MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
Modify those items , there are examples of it ?

Thanks.
infall is offline Find More Posts by infall
RCG Plus Member
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 02, 2013, 08:43 PM
Registered User
absolute-zero's Avatar
Joined Sep 2004
253 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by infall View Post
Please Tell me:
1.Arduino 1.0.5 ----tools---Borad---Type
2. MAX7456_OSD_MinimOSD.ino (reconfig config.h if needed)
Modify those items , there are examples of it ?

Thanks.
1. I use AVRISP mkII
2. Reconfig = Select the data you want the OSD to show, and where you want them to be shown. Standard setting is fine.
absolute-zero is offline Find More Posts by absolute-zero
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2013, 02:31 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Jul 2011
12 Posts
Fried my OSD :(

In my rush to complete a 2nd OSD, I hooked up a 3S LiPo directly to Vcc on the board, instead of using the 5V wire (which is the same color).

The MEGA328 is definitely fried. What other components will likely have gotten damaged?
mbanzi is offline Find More Posts by mbanzi
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 04, 2013, 03:23 AM
Build to Fly? FLY to BUILD!
Legot's Avatar
United States, AZ, Gilbert
Joined Nov 2009
1,104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mbanzi View Post
In my rush to complete a 2nd OSD, I hooked up a 3S LiPo directly to Vcc on the board, instead of using the 5V wire (which is the same color).

The MEGA328 is definitely fried. What other components will likely have gotten damaged?
The 7456 may or may not be ok. IIRC some were spec'd for above 12v operating voltage, and some were spec'd for the normal 5.5v. If a GPS was connected it's probably toast too.

Other than that, everything else is passive and should have avoided damage.
Legot is offline Find More Posts by Legot
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2013, 03:00 AM
Registered User
United States, CA, San Diego
Joined Jul 2011
12 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Legot View Post
The 7456 may or may not be ok. IIRC some were spec'd for above 12v operating voltage, and some were spec'd for the normal 5.5v. If a GPS was connected it's probably toast too.

Other than that, everything else is passive and should have avoided damage.
Thanks! Turned out only the Atmega328 was fried. GPS thankfully survived too. OSD is up & running again.
mbanzi is offline Find More Posts by mbanzi
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2013, 04:11 AM
FPV Enthusiast
martinic's Avatar
New Brunswick, Canada
Joined Nov 2004
1,884 Posts
I'm using the firmware with a minimosd and the characters seem translucent. They're still readable, but they can be difficult to see at times.

Is there a setting to make the fonts more opaque? I've looked through the code, but nothing stands out.
martinic is offline Find More Posts by martinic
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 06, 2013, 11:38 AM
Just another user
Dennis Frie's Avatar
Denmark, Capital Region of Denmark, Naerum
Joined Feb 2011
1,081 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by martinic View Post
I'm using the firmware with a minimosd and the characters seem translucent. They're still readable, but they can be difficult to see at times.

Is there a setting to make the fonts more opaque? I've looked through the code, but nothing stands out.
The white-level of the characters can be configured on MAX7456. As the default value should work well, it haven't been added as an option in config.h though.

I canīt remember if the levels are being configured in the initialization, you probably have to look a bit on the code, if you want to change it.
Dennis Frie is offline Find More Posts by Dennis Frie
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help! OSD version UNKNOWN and fail to update (error) dROb Eagle Tree Systems 9 May 16, 2012 06:12 PM
Sold EASY OSD (Version 1.2) Brand New . $75 shipped. LHTPlane FPV Equipment (FS/W) 7 Mar 20, 2012 11:45 PM
For Sale MAX7456 OSD Break out board. ziomatrixacs FPV Equipment (FS/W) 4 Jun 18, 2011 04:50 PM