HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 28, 2011, 10:05 AM
United Kingdom, England, Peterborough
Joined Sep 2011
81 Posts
Build Log
Building a West Wings DH-80 Puss Moth

Hello All

This is my first build. If I hadn't been able to browse forums like this, I would have been completely stuck, and I have also had some very friendly advice over on the Building forum (thanks guys).

I'm going to post a few pics and notes as I go along, partly as a way to say 'thank you' and partly to help others, as I couldn't find build logs or pics from anyone else for this kit.

The kit is print wood, 24in wingspan, supplied with all the usual stick & tissue materials plus prop, rubber motor, UC hardware, decals etc. I'm no great judge but the kit components seem to be nice quality.

I got it because I wanted to try building something that would at least stand a chance of flying, would be an easy ish build, and had a nice scale look as well.

Thanks in advance for any tips or comments, please help me keep up my level of commitment!

Ian
grimupnorth is offline Find More Posts by grimupnorth
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 28, 2011, 10:21 AM
Joined Sep 2011
81 Posts
First of all a few pics to show the overall build - so far I have put the fuselage together, with just a couple of pits & pieces (undercarriage and nose block) still to do.

From a newcomers perspective, part of the challenge has been to puzzle out all of the different pieces of information that make up the build - neither the instructions nor the main plan drawings nor the call-out drawings on the plan have _all_ of the info, so I had to sit & figure it out - all part of the fun! There are still things in the plans that are a little ambiguous, but nothing that badly holds the job up.