HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 29, 2013, 07:35 PM
United States, AZ, Queen Creek
Joined Jan 2007
201 Posts
Discussion
Is a video monitor is as good as video goggles?

I've Been FPVing for many years and have been using Fat Shark video goggles since they first came out. Through a bone headed move I burned up my goggles (don't ask ). So I have to look for either a new pair of Fat Sharks or maybe try a video display instead. Is there anything that is notable about video displays that is good or bad? I know about the blue screen and since I live in Arizona, it gets pretty bright at mid day. Does flying via video monitor differ much from goggles? I would be interested in everybodys opinion. Any monitors worth getting? Thanks Guys!
rvski is offline Find More Posts by rvski
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 29, 2013, 09:03 PM
Philippines, Calabarzon, San Pedro
Joined Jul 2012
3,601 Posts
That's a fairly odd question. Usually it's the other way around

I can fly a plane either via goggles or monitor, but monitors tend to be more laid back. 20 minutes tend to be a bit too long for goggles.

But on quads, monitors don't work for me. It's easier to judge distances (and i get *very* close) with goggles. It's also harder to nail the landings, all the little movements and indicators you have to compensate for are harder to judge on a monitor.
Hajile is online now Find More Posts by Hajile
Last edited by Hajile; Dec 29, 2013 at 09:08 PM.
Old Dec 29, 2013, 09:47 PM
Joined Jan 2007
201 Posts
Yeah i know that's an odd question, but before I pull the trigger I don't want to regret my decision. I only know FPV through goggles. Agreed 20 minutes is enough under the hood., and I don't know if flying with the monitor is a a perfect fit for me. I'm still pissed about ruining my fat sharks, even though they were old they worked. Thats a very valid point about flying a multirotor and it makes sense. Thanks!
Old Dec 29, 2013, 09:54 PM
fly by night
Joined Sep 2011
4,154 Posts