SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Apr 04, 2014, 10:08 AM
Joined Apr 2014
5 Posts
Discussion
Do RC Simulators really help?

Hi,

Ok, I"m sure this question has been asked a lot ---- I guess what I'm looking for is someone to chime in and say it actually helped them with their real flying.

I have never flown an rc plane of any sort before. So, I'm a total noob. And no one in my area to train me. I have a sky surfer that I have yet to fly.

How much will using an RC flight simulator help when I go to actually fly the plane?
martyarty is offline Find More Posts by martyarty
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 04, 2014, 11:07 AM
Staffs, UK
Joined Nov 2003
10,548 Posts
If you treat it as something to help you learn it will help a lot i.e. you decide on a "flight plan" and practise until you get it right. If you just play with it as game it will still help but not as much.

Basically you get used to what the controls do and their effect on the plane and if you use it enough you'll get to the point where a lot of it is instinctive so you don't just freeze when something happens.

When people turn up at our club wanting to be trained it's normal for those who use a sim a lot to learn MUCH faster than those who don't.

Steve
slipstick is online now Find More Posts by slipstick
Old Apr 04, 2014, 11:23 AM
United Kingdom, England, Oxford
Joined Jul 2002
198 Posts
It will help a lot. At the very least it will teach you how to control the plane when it's flying towards you (pretty much essential if you ever want to get it back!), which takes a while to become instinctive.

Also, without someone to help you, your plane is unlikely to be trimmed/set up right perfectly - it helps to have some reflexes to rescue things.

There are plenty of free/demo simulators that will let you at least get the hang of orientation (PicaSim, FMS, Clearview, Multiflight etc etc).