HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 12, 2001, 02:20 PM
Woodland Hills, CA
Joined Nov 2001
3 Posts
P-47 Razzorback 90" WS

I am considering building a 90" WS P-47 from Northwest Hobby Technologies as an electric project. I am new to electrics, having flown glow, gas props and jets mostly. My past few attempts with off the shelf electric projects have been very so so. Anyways, this P-47 will have a wingspan of 90" and they say the finished weight with a Zenoah G62 and several coats of automotive paint is between 18 and 20 LBS. The total wing area is 1600 sq. inches. The question I have is what types of electric motors are out there that can power this plane and how much weight in batteries would I have to carry for this plane? I do plan on putting retracts on the plane, weight permitting. Any help or suggestion would be appreciated.

Thanks in advance
Sung
Rojeck is offline Find More Posts by Rojeck
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 12, 2001, 03:11 PM
ARFs make me BARF
United States, MI, Roseville
Joined Dec 2000
8,809 Posts
Lets see...fighter performance needs 100 watts per pound. 20 pounds= 2000watts! Yow!
Anyone got ideas for this?Might use a couple Astro 90's geared together or something.

Why do you want to go so big on your first electric?Nothing wrong with it, just curious...

Better bet might be the 60-90 size Top-Flite Jug first...Just my thoughts.

Good Luck if you do try, I'd love to see it work!
Look on some of the German elecreic websites,they fly rather large ships with Epower.

mark
mrittinger is offline Find More Posts by mrittinger
Old Nov 12, 2001, 09:26 PM
Oak Harbor, Washington, United States
Joined Jan 2001
1,183 Posts