SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Mar 15, 2015, 08:53 AM
Find More Posts by ishj
Mauritius, Moka, Medine Camp de Masque
Joined Mar 2015
19 Posts
Discussion
FPV image quality?

First, I am new to FPV, and I have flown a plane only once. My fpv gear is still on the way from HK.
I have been searching forums, but could not find the answer I wanted. All of the content I watched on YouTube seem to show that the image quality we see through the goggles are crap. I would expect the quality to be just like what we see through the HD recordings, except downscaled, hence, like YouTube on 480p on full screen. But the recordings with the OSD overlay seem crap, blurry and like YouTube in 50p or sth. I bought a complete 900MHz kit from HK with a wide angle lense + a quanum goggle kit. do I need to change sth to get the video quality I am expecting??

I was thinking of using a strong 2.4 GHz booster with a router and stream the camera feed in HD from an android phone. The latency would be extremely low, trust me, and we could even have FPV in 4K. But would it work??
ishj is online now Find More Posts by ishj
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 15, 2015, 01:11 PM
Find More Posts by waltr
Team WarpSquad
United States, PA, Doylestown
Joined Jan 2014
5,437 Posts
It is not as bad as the videos but it is not HD quality.
Do a lots more reading in these forums on the subject.

Do NOT use a 2.4GHz booster. For one it is not needed and will not improve video quality and may degrade the video. It will also cause interfere to others and maybe even your own equipment and may also be illegal in your Country.
waltr is online now Find More Posts by waltr
Old Mar 15, 2015, 01:40 PM
Find More Posts by BCSaltchucker
fly by night
Joined Sep 2011
6,726 Posts
If you really want an HD video link, then you have to buy one of the few very expensive systems on the market. Like DJI LIghtbridge and the Parrot Bebop

And you have to deal with their severe limitations