HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old May 30, 2012, 11:28 PM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,039 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by idletime View Post
Err...how is that done exactly
check your esc manual or search on youtube plenty of video showing how to do it, procedure all the same with most esc
skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old May 31, 2012, 06:11 AM
I'm overcoming gravity!
Murman's Avatar
USA, NC, Huntersville
Joined Jul 2008
3,807 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by idletime View Post
Err...how is that done exactly
Try this first.
1. Remove the prop for safety.
2. turn your radio on and set the throttle trim to neutral
3. move your throttle stick all the way forward
4. connect the lipo to the esc
5. you will hear 3 musical notes followed by 2 more beeps
6. move the throttle stick back to the bottom and you should now hear 3 more
beeps confirming the esc is now armed.
7. disconnect your battery and mount the prop back on the motor
8. go flying!

This should reset your throttle endpoints. I hope it works for you.
Murman is online now Find More Posts by Murman
RCG Plus Member
Old May 31, 2012, 06:26 AM
9W2DLR
Malaysia, Federal Territory of Putrajaya, Putrajaya
Joined Nov 2011
2,039 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murman View Post
Try this first.
1. Remove the prop for safety.
2. turn your radio on and set the throttle trim to neutral
3. move your throttle stick all the way forward
4. connect the lipo to the esc
5. you will hear 3 musical notes followed by 2 more beeps
6. move the throttle stick back to the bottom and you should now hear 3 more
beeps confirming the esc is now armed.
7. disconnect your battery and mount the prop back on the motor
8. go flying!

This should reset your throttle endpoints. I hope it works for you.
Throttle Range Setting (3 min 4 sec)


skellator is offline Find More Posts by skellator
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: ZMR/RCX Motor X Mount
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 12:40 PM
Registered User
United States, SC, Irmo
Joined Sep 2011
4,455 Posts
Now why do you set the throttle trim to middle for this? I thought you left it at the bottom all the time anyway and it's not a servo so it does not matter?
shahram72 is offline Find More Posts by shahram72
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 02:09 PM
Argue for your limitations
ajbaker's Avatar
Lincoln, CA
Joined Oct 2006
8,421 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shahram72 View Post
Now why do you set the throttle trim to middle for this? I thought you left it at the bottom all the time anyway and it's not a servo so it does not matter?
You are correct.
AJ
ajbaker is offline Find More Posts by ajbaker
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 08:33 PM
I'm overcoming gravity!
Murman's Avatar
USA, NC, Huntersville
Joined Jul 2008
3,807 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shahram72 View Post
Now why do you set the throttle trim to middle for this? I thought you left it at the bottom all the time anyway and it's not a servo so it does not matter?
Must be a matter of choice then. I figure if I'm not gonna be using it anyway, then why not leave it neutral?
Murman is online now Find More Posts by Murman
RCG Plus Member
Old May 31, 2012, 09:12 PM
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Jan 2011
2,754 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by shahram72 View Post
Now why do you set the throttle trim to middle for this? I thought you left it at the bottom all the time anyway and it's not a servo so it does not matter?
Quote:
Originally Posted by Murman View Post
Must be a matter of choice then. I figure if I'm not gonna be using it anyway, then why not leave it neutral?
Obviously it is used often by IC flyers to trim the idle as conditions vary. But for electrics - as throttle is very on or off and super responsive it is not that important. I also wonder if it matters too much?

Is it a matter of choice or are there best practices?
mutha is offline Find More Posts by mutha
Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2012, 09:41 PM
Registered User
Prof100's Avatar
Canton, Michigan USA
Joined Jul 2007
16,219 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by mutha View Post
Obviously it is used often by IC flyers to trim the idle as conditions vary. But for electrics - as throttle is very on or off and super responsive it is not that important. I also wonder if it matters too much?

Is it a matter of choice or are there best practices?
It's a good practice to keep it neutral or below. Too much positive throttle trim and you may not be able to arm your ESC because the ESC will detect an open throttle and won't arm for safety sake.
Prof100 is offline Find More Posts by Prof100
RCG Plus Member
Old May 31, 2012, 10:55 PM
Registered User
idletime's Avatar
Canada, ON, Toronto
Joined Apr 2011
1,382 Posts
@Murman & @skellator

Thanks a ton for the step-by-step and the video
idletime is offline Find More Posts by idletime
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2012, 02:15 AM
RC Airplane (Recently Crashed)
mutha's Avatar
Australia, VIC, Melbourne
Joined Jan 2011
2,754 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Prof100 View Post
It's a good practice to keep it neutral or below. Too much positive throttle trim and you may not be able to arm your ESC because the ESC will detect an open throttle and won't arm for safety sake.
Cheers Prof, makes sense thanks.
mutha is offline Find More Posts by mutha
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 01, 2012, 02:24 PM
Registered User
JLT_GTI's Avatar
Oviedo
Joined Jun 2010
2,237 Posts
My CF flying over the skies of Oviedo (my home town).. launched from a hill in the border so i can see above the city without having to actually fly over it

CloudsFly en lo alto de Oviedo (7 min 14 sec)
JLT_GTI is online now Find More Posts by JLT_GTI
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: CL-415 GuanLi
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2012, 04:07 AM
Registered User
South Africa, FS, Sasolburg
Joined Apr 2011
36 Posts
How do you guys extend the motor wires? do you just solder longer wires on or what?
I know the space where the wires goes inside the plane is not very big!
And what wire do you use - 18,16awg?
Jeandredubois is offline Find More Posts by Jeandredubois
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2012, 08:09 AM
Registered User
meanangel's Avatar
Joined Mar 2012
94 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by JLT_GTI View Post
My CF flying over the skies of Oviedo (my home town).. launched from a hill in the border so i can see above the city without having to actually fly over it

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=QZ_6u6oNTm4

Awsome!!
meanangel is offline Find More Posts by meanangel
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2012, 09:16 AM
Registered User
United States, SC, Irmo
Joined Sep 2011
4,455 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jeandredubois View Post
How do you guys extend the motor wires? do you just solder longer wires on or what?
I know the space where the wires goes inside the plane is not very big!
And what wire do you use - 18,16awg?
Mine were barely long enough to solder bullet connectors to. I taped the wires sideways out of the fuse and soldered the bullet connectors to them. Did it one by one and taped up that area of the fuse with blue masking tape to protect it. Are yours shorter than this? You may have to remove the motor assembly to add wires on to lengthen it, but I don't know how you are going to get them routed again, although it was done at the factory somehow. That's the thing about these cheap chinese brands, there are often things that don't work and have to be modified, and we don't even have adequate instructions, if we have them at all.
shahram72 is offline Find More Posts by shahram72
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 02, 2012, 12:09 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2010
59 Posts
Couldnt stand it....I ordered one as well yesterday...now i have to wait for max of three weeks....@#$$%^@&%#$.....I will post photos and maiden flight video when it arrives..
box13 is offline Find More Posts by box13
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools