HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Closed Thread
Thread Tools
Old Nov 12, 2013, 07:02 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Nov 2010
4,070 Posts
Discussion
XFLR5 to CAD?

I had an awesome plugin that went from solid works to xflr5. (.avl/.wpa)

I recently lost my student license for Solidworks (until I go back to school) and I would like to use sketchup...

Does anyone know of a way to easily import, convert, or accurately trace an XFLR5 aircraft to ANY CAD software without having to rebuild the whole thing?

I have done it the other way around, but never XFLR5 to CAD...

Thanks a ton fellas!
Jwmflying14 is online now Find More Posts by Jwmflying14
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2013, 09:20 AM
Dieselized User
gkamysz's Avatar
Chicagoland
Joined Feb 2000
7,387 Posts
What were you using to go from SW to XFLR5? I assume it was also an educational license?

Greg
gkamysz is offline Find More Posts by gkamysz
Old Nov 13, 2013, 09:24 AM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Nov 2010
4,070 Posts
Yes it was. I know (or think) it was a plugin?

It couldn't do an entire aircraft, but it could do pieces, ie: wing, fuse tail.

I am looking into using sketchup, although I found SW and Autodesk to be easier to use systems...
Jwmflying14 is online now Find More Posts by Jwmflying14
Old Nov 13, 2013, 01:16 PM
Aurora Builder
United States, MD, Lusby
Joined Nov 2003
3,457 Posts
I would like to know more about the plugin you were using to go from SW to XFLR5? I've never heard of such a plugin...
samc99us is offline Find More Posts by samc99us
Old Nov 13, 2013, 04:57 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Nov 2010
4,070 Posts
Ill try to track it down. I'm pretty sure xflr files are just text files with coordinates. I know when I saved as an .avl it came up with a progress bar (for about 5 seconds). If you cliked on the file out of xflr it just opened in notepad and was a bunch of text...

Do you guys know of anyway to go from xflr5 to any cad program? Or is Re-making it the only way?
Jwmflying14 is online now Find More Posts by Jwmflying14
Old Nov 13, 2013, 11:03 PM
Just call me crash for short
Quick61's Avatar
United States, OH, The Plains
Joined Jan 2011
1,693 Posts
The only thing that i have ever been able to use from XFLR5 is the .dat export of airfoils from the Direct Foil Design section. I do have to agree, it's a shame it will not import/export the mesh (yet ). There seems to be some discussion to that end over on the Sourceforg / XFLR5 site. So maybe stay tuned... or better yet, get involved.
Quick61 is offline Find More Posts by Quick61
Old Nov 13, 2013, 11:08 PM
Registered User
United States, AZ, Tucson
Joined Nov 2010
4,070 Posts
Awesome! Thanks for the info.

Wings are fairly easy to do IMO. With just lifting between airfoil sections.

I suppose I will just do the same for the fuselage.... After all, XFLR 5 shows each section when you design a fuse... I suppose you can just "snip" or screenshot the sections and just loft it in CAD.
Jwmflying14 is online now Find More Posts by Jwmflying14
Closed Thread


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cool DesignSpark Mechanical 3D CAD (free CAD) kdahlhaus CAD/CAM 10 Apr 17, 2014 05:27 PM
Discussion XFLR5 Problems PAL10 CAD/CAM 2 Nov 06, 2013 04:25 PM
Discussion XFLR5 canard help p901P901 Modeling Science 3 Aug 10, 2013 01:44 PM
Discussion Confusing Results in XFLR5 bwill6 Hand Launch 11 May 08, 2013 02:27 PM
Discussion XFLR5 Windows 8 ThomasLee Hand Launch 13 Jan 10, 2013 05:31 PM