New Products Flash Sale
Old Sep 25, 2015, 06:25 PM
Find More Posts by Jim.Thompson
Entropy is happening!
Australia, NSW, Bellingen
Joined Aug 2008
8,882 Posts
Discussion
Power system for 2.4 mtr. span tug suggestions.

I'm currently looking at buying or building a powered model for aerotowing gliders. It will be around 2.4 mtr. span. Most likely a Piper Cub or a Piper Pawnee.
I'm still considering power options, both electric and internal combustion. In order to make that choice, I would like some suggestions for an electric power set up, including motor, battery (or batteries), prop size and charging requirements.
I have limited knowledge of electric powered aircraft and have only flown gliders to date.
So, basic information will be much appreciated.

Jim.
Jim.Thompson is online now Find More Posts by Jim.Thompson
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 26, 2015, 02:31 AM
Find More Posts by GordonTarling
Supersonic Engineering
UK, Greater London, Uxbridge
Joined Mar 2001
3,450 Posts
If you're building the model specifically for towing gliders, then fit a petrol engine. From experience, an electric tug is usually capable of three, maybe four tows per charge, so you'll be continuously changing and charging battery packs if you want to maintain a good launching rate. If you're building it as a sport/scale model that'll perform occasional towing duties, then electric can work quite well - it all depends on your requirements and expectations. If you want a detailed electric setup, then more model details are required, such as wing area, weight and maximum prop size.
GordonTarling is online now Find More Posts by GordonTarling
Old Sep 26, 2015, 04:35 AM
Entropy is happening!
Joined Aug 2008
8,882 Posts
Good points Gordon.
I am exploring the feasibility of converting a small four stroke petrol engine at the moment. The model has not been chosen yet, but will probably be either a Piper Cub or a Piper Pawnee. Around 2.4 mtr. span. Build (most likely) or buy.