SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Dec 10, 2011, 05:50 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
Help!
Ice 100 gives over current fault on 55A?

This is my second Ice 100 that I've purchased. First one works like a dream. So I purchased this one and it seems to be giving me problems. I have it hooked up to a Turnigy SK3 50-55 430KV motor running on 8s. When powered up it shuts down and gives me the over current fault. My watt meter is showing only 55A at 1500watts. I downloaded the logging and it shows a reading of over 150A and almost 3000watts! The other ESC matches what my watt meter reads. So what is going on? The new ESC was cool to the touch, lipos just warm (5000mah 20c) and motor pretty warm to touch but not hot.
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 11, 2011, 11:45 PM
D C
I'm Out Sky Dancing!
D C's Avatar
United States, TX, Bryan
Joined Jan 2009
182 Posts
It sounds like the current measurement in the ESC may be off and causing the shutdown.

Set your current limit to insensitive or disable it and test again.

Don C
D C is offline Find More Posts by D C
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 02:46 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
That is what I did do...I turned off the current limit and did another test...shows the same current and watt readings, but didn't shut down at all. Which is fine as long as it is reading incorrectly. Don't want to burn anything up.
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 03:09 PM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,612 Posts
You should give CC a call. That could be an indication that it has a bad FET or something else that would cause a fire. They will be able to give you expert advice on that.

.
RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 04:35 PM
Castle's Chaos Corner
Bernie Wolfard's Avatar
Olathe, KS (next to the Castle)
Joined Jun 2001
1,649 Posts
The three flash error code can occur from a synchronization problem with the motor. In the 'Motor' tab change the PWM rate to 'Outrunner Mode' and see if the problem goes away.

Motor
Bernie Wolfard is offline Find More Posts by Bernie Wolfard
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 12, 2011, 04:47 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
Thanks for the suggestion. I will give it a try hopefully tomorrow morning.
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2011, 04:21 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
Been a very busy week afterall so I haven't had a chance to check into it at all. Probably won't happen till the weekend now
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2011, 04:11 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
So I changed the ESC to outrunner mode, and lowered the prop from a 12X12 to a 11X10. The watt meter was showing 44A, and 1450Watts. The Logging shows considerably more peak of 162A average of 140, and temp reading on logging shows 90ish degrees This time, the motor would start surging ever so slightly at full power when left full power for a little bit. Dunno what's going on....
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2011, 06:09 PM
A man with too many toys
United States
Joined Feb 2001
17,612 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by planebldr View Post
So I changed the ESC to outrunner mode, and lowered the prop from a 12X12 to a 11X10. The watt meter was showing 44A, and 1450Watts. The Logging shows considerably more peak of 162A average of 140, and temp reading on logging shows 90ish degrees This time, the motor would start surging ever so slightly at full power when left full power for a little bit. Dunno what's going on....
Itís time to send that ESC in for a rebuild.


RC Man is online now Find More Posts by RC Man
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2011, 07:09 PM
Registered User
planebldr's Avatar
Brillion,WI 54110
Joined Jul 2009
593 Posts
Yeah, I already contacted them and was told I can send it back. So far I'm thrilled with the customer service
planebldr is offline Find More Posts by planebldr
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Ice 75 over-current at half throttle. crypto666 Castle Creations 1 Oct 17, 2011 05:20 PM
Discussion Is the built in 5A BEC on CC ICE 100 as powerful as the CC BEC on 6s? cleansho93 Electric Ducted Fan Jet Talk 12 Mar 15, 2011 03:53 PM
Discussion Is the built in 5A BEC on CC ICE 100 as powerful as the CC BEC on 6s? cleansho93 Foamy EDFs 0 Mar 15, 2011 12:29 AM
For Sale WTT: My ice 100 Lite for your Ice 100 std la528it Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 1 Apr 18, 2010 12:26 AM
Sold Phoenix ICE 100/ICE LITE 100 NIP hole digger Aircraft - Electric - Power Systems (FS/W) 9 Oct 14, 2009 02:47 PM