SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:39 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Sep 2012
84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Skip the position of the reverse SWITCH for a second.

After you bind once, position the throttle STICK in the right (low throttle) position and use the switch to make sure the throttle is closed. Now DON'T touch the switch.

Now re-bind with the tx UNCHANGED stick positions.

Andy
Did that, servo still goes to wide open when tx is shut off with rx on (simulated signal loss).
Daytonarc is offline Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 13, 2012, 11:44 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Sep 2012
84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
Skip the position of the reverse SWITCH for a second.

After you bind once, position the throttle STICK in the right (low throttle) position and use the switch to make sure the throttle is closed. Now DON'T touch the switch.

Now re-bind with the tx UNCHANGED stick positions.

Andy
Did it.. When tx is turned off to simulate signal loss with rx on throttle goes to wide open even though bind was done with throttle closed.
Daytonarc is offline Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 12:29 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,758 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Daytonarc
I know that is what is supposed to happen however that is not what is happening. Bind rx to tx with throttle at low idle, remove bind plug. turn off tx, throttle goes wide open.
We must be missing something super simple, some step skipped or something. Please forgive me if this is redundant, but please do each step exactly per below, don't jump ahead and don't do anything not on the list.

1) Start with everything turned off.
2) Insert bind plug in rx.
3) Power up rx. Servos might jump as power is applied due to noise on signal leads.
4) Verify that LEDs on rx are blinking rapidly to indicate Bind Mode.
5) Prove to yourself that there's no signal to the throttle servo. You can twist it freely. (NOTE: Throttle servo must be plugged into THRO port on the receiver).
6) Move throttle stick to low/off throttle position.
7) Hold bind button/switch on tx as you power it up.
8) Verify that LED on rx changes blinking, goes off, then comes on solid.
9) Verify that you have control of all servos including throttle.
10) Verify that throttle servo is in the low-power position with the stick in low-power position. If not, change reversing switch then power all down and repeat from step 1.
11) Move throttle stick to high-power position. Verify that throttle servo is now in high-power position. If not, stop and tell us what's happening.
12) Turn off transmitter.
13) Verify that throttle moves to low-power position (where it was bound).

Please follow that EXACTLY. Don't add or remove any steps AT ALL.

Thanks.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 01:03 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Sep 2012
84 Posts
Andy,

reply in PM
Daytonarc is offline Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:03 PM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
7,151 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
We must be missing something super simple, some step skipped or something. Please forgive me if this is redundant, but please do each step exactly per below, don't jump ahead and don't do anything not on the list.

1) Start with everything turned off.
2) Insert bind plug in rx.
3) Power up rx. Servos might jump as power is applied due to noise on signal leads.
4) Verify that LEDs on rx are blinking rapidly to indicate Bind Mode.
5) Prove to yourself that there's no signal to the throttle servo. You can twist it freely. (NOTE: Throttle servo must be plugged into THRO port on the receiver).
6) Move throttle stick to low/off throttle position.
7) Hold bind button/switch on tx as you power it up.
8) Verify that LED on rx changes blinking, goes off, then comes on solid.
9) Verify that you have control of all servos including throttle.
10) Verify that throttle servo is in the low-power position with the stick in low-power position. If not, change reversing switch then power all down and repeat from step 1.
11) Move throttle stick to high-power position. Verify that throttle servo is now in high-power position. If not, stop and tell us what's happening.
12) Turn off transmitter.
13) Verify that throttle moves to low-power position (where it was bound).

Please follow that EXACTLY. Don't add or remove any steps AT ALL.

Thanks.

Andy
You fergot to remove the bind plug
richard hanson is offline Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:14 PM
Registered User
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Sep 2012
84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by AndyKunz View Post
We must be missing something super simple, some step skipped or something. Please forgive me if this is redundant, but please do each step exactly per below, don't jump ahead and don't do anything not on the list.

1) Start with everything turned off.
2) Insert bind plug in rx.
3) Power up rx. Servos might jump as power is applied due to noise on signal leads.
4) Verify that LEDs on rx are blinking rapidly to indicate Bind Mode.
5) Prove to yourself that there's no signal to the throttle servo. You can twist it freely. (NOTE: Throttle servo must be plugged into THRO port on the receiver).
6) Move throttle stick to low/off throttle position.
7) Hold bind button/switch on tx as you power it up.
8) Verify that LED on rx changes blinking, goes off, then comes on solid.
8a) Remove bind plug>
9) Verify that you have control of all servos including throttle.
10) Verify that throttle servo is in the low-power position with the stick in low-power position. If not, change reversing switch then power all down and repeat from step 1.
11) Move throttle stick to high-power position. Verify that throttle servo is now in high-power position. If not, stop and tell us what's happening.
12) Turn off transmitter.
13) Verify that throttle moves to low-power position (where it was bound).

Please follow that EXACTLY. Don't add or remove any steps AT ALL.

Thanks.

Andy
Added 8a)
Daytonarc is offline Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:45 PM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
7,151 Posts
Iibby was watching you !
richard hanson is offline Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:55 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,758 Posts
Good catch, guys, thanks.
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 02:58 PM
Registered User
richard hanson's Avatar
United States, UT, Salt Lake City
Joined Oct 2007
7,151 Posts
arf! arf!
richard hanson is offline Find More Posts by richard hanson
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 13, 2012, 03:50 PM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,758 Posts
Thank you too, Libby!

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:04 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Sep 2012
84 Posts
1) Start with everything turned off. Done
2) Insert bind plug in rx. Done
3) Power up rx. Servos might jump as power is applied due to noise on signal leads. Done
4) Verify that LEDs on rx are blinking rapidly to indicate Bind Mode. Yes
5) Prove to yourself that there's no signal to the throttle servo. You can twist it freely. (NOTE: Throttle servo must be plugged into THRO port on the receiver). No signal
6) Move throttle stick to low/off throttle position. Done7) Hold bind button/switch on tx as you power it up. Done
8) Verify that LED on rx changes blinking, goes off, then comes on solid. Blinks, Off, Solid. As soon as bound throttle moves to full open. Release bind switch on tx and throttle moves to propper closed position Throttle reverse switch is in correct location as noted in # 9 and 10
8a) Remove bind plug> Done
9) Verify that you have control of all servos including throttle. All servos, including throttle working and working in propper direction
10) Verify that throttle servo is in the low-power position with the stick in low-power position. If not, change reversing switch then power all down and repeat from step 1. Verified
11) Move throttle stick to high-power position. Verify that throttle servo is now in high-power position. If not, stop and tell us what's happening. Verified
12) Turn off transmitter. Done
13) Verify that throttle moves to low-power position (where it was bound). Negative, Throttle servo actually moves about 3 degrees past fully open

Also did the following. Repeated all steps except closed throttle prior to power off tx and throttle fully opened when tx was turned off. Repeated all steps with a different tx with exact same results. Repeated all steps with a different servo on throttle with the exact same results. Reapeted all steps with the throttle servo reverse switch in opposite direction, Servo went to fully closed at bind, when bind switch was released sevo whent to full open, throttle operation was backwards (full forward closes throttle, full back opens throttle, turned off transmitter and throttle closed.
Daytonarc is offline Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 10:47 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
24,758 Posts
Can you show a photograph indicating which port your throttle servo is plugged into?

Step 8 indicates that it is plugged into the wrong channel, or that you have a mix on that switch to the throttle.

Can you attach the SPM file for this model too?

Thanks.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:00 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Sep 2012
84 Posts
What is an SPM file? The throttle servo is plugged in to the throttle chanel (first one next to bind/data on AR6210) the throttle works the throttle servo so it is obviuosly the right chanel. I am binding with a DX5e tx so there is no mixing even possible. The second tx I used to verify the exact same results was a DX4e, also no mixing available.
Daytonarc is offline Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:29 AM
X-Ikarus
Reflex1's Avatar
United Kingdom, North York
Joined Feb 2003
1,710 Posts
ok. pretty easy really

DSM2 takes the "Bind conditions" as Failsafe settings

1. Confirm model controls work correctly

2. re-bind the Tx and Rx to set Failsafe (with the Tx controls at your Failsafe settings)
e.g. Throttle at Minimum.

3. remove Bind Plug and turn Tx and Rx Off

4. Turn Tx On then Rx On
confirm Failsafe is working by turning Tx Off

Common mistakes are
Low Rx voltage
Low Tx voltage
Rx supply reversed (even when the supply is Reversed the Rx LED will light)
Reflex1 is offline Find More Posts by Reflex1
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 14, 2012, 11:40 AM
Registered User
United States, FL, Daytona Beach
Joined Sep 2012
84 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Reflex1 View Post
ok. pretty easy really

DSM2 takes the "Bind conditions" as Failsafe settings

1. Confirm model controls work correctly

2. re-bind the Tx and Rx to set Failsafe (with the Tx controls at your Failsafe settings)
e.g. Throttle at Minimum.

3. remove Bind Plug and turn Tx and Rx Off

4. Turn Tx On then Rx On
confirm Failsafe is working by turning Tx Off

Common mistakes are
Low Rx voltage
Low Tx voltage
Rx supply reversed (even when the supply is Reversed the Rx LED will light)
Done this numerous times to the point of redundancy and the rx goes to WOT when tx is turned off. This is not my first or only DSMX rx.
Daytonarc is offline Find More Posts by Daytonarc
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Graupner MX-20 Failsafe problem zaguruinzasky Radios 3 May 19, 2014 05:07 AM
Discussion DJI F450 failsafe problem hartrockets Multirotor Talk 2 Sep 29, 2012 05:54 AM
Discussion Problems with Orange RX DSM2 and Failsafe jtprouty Radios 6 Mar 16, 2012 08:21 AM
Sold Spektrum AR6210 Receiver NIB, $70.00 shipped fltekdiver Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 3 Apr 11, 2011 05:42 PM