HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Feb 07, 2014, 07:44 PM
Joined Jan 2013
159 Posts
Discussion
Piper PA-12 Super Cruiser Build

I hope the title doesn't become misleading; I do truly hope to make this project a reality one day, but it has to start somewhere.

In his youth, my grandfather was a recreational pilot, and a machinist by trade. He combined these skills and built his own Piper PA-12 Super Cruiser (I guess they sold kits back then?). He owned, flew, built, and bought a few different models in his life, and in his retirement, he continued to build and fly balsa models.

Last February, he passed away at the age of 99. Coincidentally, it was just a few months earlier that I got my first foamie and learned to fly RC. After he passed, I began to think that a fitting tribute would be to build a balsa scale model myself.

As his children and grandchildren inherited momentos from his life, somehow I ended up with the original propeller from his Piper PA-12. It is a wonderful momento of something he was passionate about, and a very neat piece of "art" on my wall.

Anyhow, this got me thinking that the PA-12 would be an appropriate plane to build in his memory..............
nstiesi is offline Find More Posts by nstiesi
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 07, 2014, 07:55 PM
Joined Jan 2013
159 Posts
So, I found a great website that scans and hosts a large number of vintage aircraft plans. I am a Mechanical Engineer, and was educated in the digital age, so I figured I would start with 3D models.

My original plan was to simply reproduce all of the balsa parts digitally, then get a job shop to laser cut them for me. The problem is, I really have no place to fly balsa at the moment, and am kind of limited to park flyers.