HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 30, 2012, 02:34 PM
What tree??.......Doh!!
Smokin_Joes's Avatar
USA, WA, Seattle
Joined Aug 2007
740 Posts
Well, I've been testing mine on RealFlight 6. Hooks up great! Feels great!

Except, on almost every flight- I've gotten a flight failure-
gimble fell out of radio. gimble locked up. gimble just didn't want to move.

Go figure!
Smokin_Joes is offline Find More Posts by Smokin_Joes
Last edited by Smokin_Joes; Oct 30, 2012 at 05:04 PM.
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 30, 2012, 03:22 PM
2 seconds from crashing
indoorheli's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
7,349 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by LoneWolfRC View Post
Hmn....gimbles were fine on mine. Did you drop yours?
Unless he just bought a dx18, he still doesnt have one I know he didnt have a dx18 any where near the date when he said he sent it in.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Smokin_Joes View Post
Well, I've been testing mine on RealFlight 6. Hooks up great! Feels great!

Except, on almost every flight- I've gotten a flight failure-
gimble feel out of radio. gimble locked up. gimbal just didn't want to move.

Go figure!
I just dont have the heart to put my dx18 on the sim...didnt know RF could simulate the rare gimbal failure

I think the sticks on this radio are absolutely amazing and I think the radio and service is worth every penny I spent on it
indoorheli is offline Find More Posts by indoorheli
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FPV - DRQ250 and a little speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 03:53 PM
Need More PURPLE !!
Dejavu*Xion's Avatar
United States, NV, Las Vegas
Joined Aug 2012
3,670 Posts
skidder87 said a few months ago that he was on his way, then @ Ircha ... He was never ther. He Posted non-stop in heli forums those 3 days. ( couple dudes asked to meet up -he never did) McFibber should be his next name. con-fusses say " one must take with grain of salt" Maybe if we asked him to post a pic of he and his dx18. That would be awsome. lolzzzzz
Dejavu*Xion is offline Find More Posts by Dejavu*Xion
Last edited by Dejavu*Xion; Oct 30, 2012 at 06:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 04:59 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Sep 2012
428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by indoorheli View Post
I just dont have the heart to put my dx18 on the sim...didnt know RF could simulate the rare gimbal failure
LOLzzz
crvnation is offline Find More Posts by crvnation
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 30, 2012, 05:36 PM
2 seconds from crashing
indoorheli's Avatar
United States, WA, Seattle
Joined Sep 2007
7,349 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by crvnation View Post
LOLzzz
Yes I am sure you find that amusing along with the fact you never sent or had a dx18 to send in for service.

Let me guess you had one but meant to say that you sent it back in September...or maybe meant it was mid to late October and it really only took two days to get in and out of the shop and back to you
indoorheli is offline Find More Posts by indoorheli
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: FPV - DRQ250 and a little speed
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 2012, 06:27 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Sep 2012
428 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by indoorheli View Post
Let me guess you had one but meant to say that you sent it back in September...or maybe meant it was mid to late October and it really only took two days to get in and out of the shop and back to you
Okay, if you say so with your *guess*.
crvnation is offline Find More Posts by crvnation
Reply With Quote  (Disabled)
Old Oct 31, 2012, 06:07 AM
You must die! I alone am best.
slopetrashuk's Avatar
The Naughty Corner..Find me tweeting @slopetrashuk
Joined Sep 2003
5,011 Posts
I cant seem to upgrade to 1.03.
Copied the file to the SD etc but when i switch the tx on I just get the normal transmission screen.
Viewing in settings reveals 1.02 still active software.
Any ideas?

Andy
UK
slopetrashuk is offline Find More Posts by slopetrashuk
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 07:59 AM
Spads, Balsa & Foam
United States, IA, Newton
Joined Oct 2012
36 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by freechip View Post
Wait until you start using it, if you're anything like me you will never be able to go back to what you hade before.
I totally agree. I had a DX8 before and thought it couldn't get much better then that. but after using the DX18 for a while I was at the field helping a friend adjust some things on his DX8 and really noticed\remembered the difference.
I know for a fact now that it was worth the money!
Varmit is offline Find More Posts by Varmit
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 08:03 AM
AndyKunz's Avatar
Illinois
Joined Sep 2001
23,426 Posts
Andy,

Go to System mode (power up holding roller down). Put SD card in the radio.

Scroll down to SD options and click.

Select the option "Firmware Update." This will give you a list of all the SAX files on your card. Select the one that is this update and click it. That will do the update manually for you.

Andy
AndyKunz is offline Find More Posts by AndyKunz
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 10:06 AM
Registered User
egicar's Avatar
Nuvolera (Italy)
Joined Jul 2007
664 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by slopetrashuk View Post
I cant seem to upgrade to 1.03.
Copied the file to the SD etc but when i switch the tx on I just get the normal transmission screen.
Viewing in settings reveals 1.02 still active software.
Any ideas?

Andy
UK
You should also check on your SD card that the new AirWare file name must be: "spmtx.sax".
Some OS change the name of the file and the radio doesn't use it as an AirWare udate file.

Ciao,
Egidio
egicar is offline Find More Posts by egicar
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 10:11 AM
What tree??.......Doh!!
Smokin_Joes's Avatar
USA, WA, Seattle
Joined Aug 2007
740 Posts
3 Andy's in 3 days!

Smokin_Joes is offline Find More Posts by Smokin_Joes
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 11:49 AM
teamwork, do it my way!
Dubai, UAE
Joined Jun 2007
705 Posts
3 Andy's in three days, nothing new for me, there are three of us in my office!

On the note of my Rx not working, I got it back from the LHS (HH agent), they had also given up trying to get it to work, said they were not able to replace it as I did not buy from them. So, in preparation for return, fired it up according to suggestions from you good folk (mostly) and hey presto. Flashy lights!

I see now how the symbols on the Rx can be a little misleading, but clearer now. I feel like a moron, but glad that the agents, and and an experienced fellow flyer, all made the same mistake!

Thanks all.
Cathurga is online now Find More Posts by Cathurga
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 11:54 AM
What tree??.......Doh!!
Smokin_Joes's Avatar
USA, WA, Seattle
Joined Aug 2007
740 Posts
Great news!
Smokin_Joes is offline Find More Posts by Smokin_Joes
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 12:25 PM
Always trying to learn
mejmea's Avatar
United States, IL, Geneva
Joined Feb 2011
651 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Cathurga View Post
3 Andy's in three days, nothing new for me, there are three of us in my office!

On the note of my Rx not working, I got it back from the LHS (HH agent), they had also given up trying to get it to work, said they were not able to replace it as I did not buy from them. So, in preparation for return, fired it up according to suggestions from you good folk (mostly) and hey presto. Flashy lights!

I see now how the symbols on the Rx can be a little misleading, but clearer now. I feel like a moron, but glad that the agents, and and an experienced fellow flyer, all made the same mistake!

Thanks all.
Nice! Now you can start your project.

I haven't looked at my Rx in a while but since I may be using it in the near future I'll confirm my recollection with you to save confusing myself all over again.

As I recall, there are port labels on both sides (top and bottom) of the receiver with two columns of printing/port labeling since the RX is double thick and has two layers of ports. One printed column is closest to the end where the ports are and the other is next to it (slightly further from the end). I remember expecting that the labeling closest to the end/ports would correspond to the ports on that side of the receiver but in fact it was opposite. i.e. the labeling that is closest to the edge/ports is actually for the opposite side of the Rx. Is that correct?

Thanks
mejmea is offline Find More Posts by mejmea
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 2012, 12:44 PM
Air, Ground & Water
freechip's Avatar
Canada, ON, Rockland
Joined Aug 2008
23,827 Posts
...
freechip is online now Find More Posts by freechip
Last edited by freechip; Oct 31, 2012 at 01:00 PM.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Spektrum DSM2 and the Nats - Question for Spektrum/JR users aeajr Sailplane Talk 25 May 29, 2012 03:14 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Dec 20, 2011 05:12 PM
Sold Spektrum DX6 6-channel System with Spektrum AR6000 Receiver $50 shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 4 Dec 14, 2011 07:30 PM
For Sale Spektrum & JR 2.4 Ghz DSM2 receivers for sale I have a sailplane sized Spektrum AR93 zaptherio Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 1 Nov 15, 2011 05:14 PM
Sold SPEKTRUM DX6i DSMX with Spektrum Ni-cads and charger- like new condition shooboy Aircraft - General - Radio Equipment (FS/W) 6 Oct 19, 2011 04:59 AM