SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 29, 2011, 07:00 AM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hey jstern429,

it looks like you found the right pin.

Pin D1 is the voltage control pin.

Use one of the 5v pins for final voltage adjustment. 5v pin to resistor to Pin D1.
The 12v out was just for testing.
This will change the value of the resistor but should run cooler.
This also helps in voltage regulation
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 29, 2011, 08:21 AM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
72 Posts
Are there voltage control pins on the Compaq/HP ESP114?
merzie is offline Find More Posts by merzie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 10:41 AM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2009
111 Posts
Cool, thanks for the help. Jeff
jstern429 is offline Find More Posts by jstern429
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 03:54 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hey merzie,

try post #599 to find the voltage control pin(if there is one) on the ESP114 PS.

Pin C5 might be a possible candidate.

Hope this helps.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Last edited by xandrios; Jun 29, 2011 at 04:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 29, 2011, 06:42 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
72 Posts
Thank u. It seems to be referring to another power supply...
merzie is offline Find More Posts by merzie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 12:31 AM
Registered User
fly_right's Avatar
USA, NC, Stanley
Joined Sep 2008
161 Posts
I have 3 Dell EP071298 with internal fan. Rated at 320 watts. If these are worth converting would someone be interested in offering assistance so I can convert one for me and a friend of mine? I'd be glad to send them the last power supply in exchange for their help.

I also have 2 DPS-300HB rated at 289Watts max. No internal fans. Any help with those would be appreciated as well.

Thanks,

Lee
fly_right is offline Find More Posts by fly_right
Last edited by fly_right; Jun 30, 2011 at 09:58 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 01:11 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
72 Posts
since it's lower power it sounds like a normal atx psu...
just touch green wire to ground with a load connected to the 12V line and see if it works. some require loads on all lines
merzie is offline Find More Posts by merzie
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 04:20 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,419 Posts
No, they are hot swap server supplies. Needs the control pin treatment.
Quote:
Originally Posted by merzie View Post
since it's lower power it sounds like a normal atx psu...
just touch green wire to ground with a load connected to the 12V line and see if it works. some require loads on all lines
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 30, 2011, 10:01 PM
Registered User
fly_right's Avatar
USA, NC, Stanley
Joined Sep 2008
161 Posts
So, they're not very desirable? They only deliver 40Amps, I guess?

jj, what is the, (pause, play scary music) "control pin treatment"? Mwahaha
fly_right is offline Find More Posts by fly_right
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 12:31 AM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,419 Posts
Basically what this thread is all about. By connecting the pins that stick out the back in the correct way you can fool these supplies into thinking they are sitting in their server and should be supplying power.

This thread has accumulated a lot of info from folks who by trial and error or because they are smart have figured out which pins need to be connected together to make the power supply turn on safely. They won't work without some sort of control pin connections because they think they have been unplugged from the chassis or something is wrong.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fly_right View Post
jj, what is the, (pause, play scary music) "control pin treatment"? Mwahaha
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 12:27 PM
Steven
xandrios's Avatar
United States, CT, East Hartford
Joined May 2010
504 Posts
Hey fly_right,

try post 541 and 542 for that DPS-300HB. It might help.
xandrios is offline Find More Posts by xandrios
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 08:22 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2009
72 Posts
Could I have luck trying the method in 599 to find voltage control pins? Is it just a matter of grounding each pin with a resistor, one by one, until I see a significant change in the voltage?
merzie is offline Find More Posts by merzie
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 08:57 PM
Registered User
fly_right's Avatar
USA, NC, Stanley
Joined Sep 2008
161 Posts
Thank you for your help xandrios.
That turned out to be the Green and White wire on the DB15. I put a 1k resistor inline and a multimeter on the +12 Yellow and GND Black. I didn't get a voltage reading but I did hear a soft click in the PS. The green LED didn't illuminate. And all the magic smoke stayed inside. :-)

If you aren't too busy, I'd be glad to try your next suggestion.

BTW, assuming you get this rascal running, can I just tie the Yellow and +5 Red together for +17 volts. Wouldn't that also give me about 77Amps?

-Lee
fly_right is offline Find More Posts by fly_right
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 01, 2011, 11:02 PM
ancora imparo
jj604's Avatar
Melbourne, Australia
Joined Jul 2005
6,419 Posts
Lee don't do that!

If you tie the +12 and +5V together the supply is trying to drive 12V into the 5V supply. The only way to add 12V to 5V is with two supplies and isolating them so that either their supply grounds are not connected or their output grounds are not connected.
Quote:
Originally Posted by fly_right View Post
BTW, assuming you get this rascal running, can I just tie the Yellow and +5 Red together for +17 volts. Wouldn't that also give me about 77Amps?

-Lee
jj604 is online now Find More Posts by jj604
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 02, 2011, 06:47 AM
Registered User
fly_right's Avatar
USA, NC, Stanley
Joined Sep 2008
161 Posts
Well, that shows my inexperience, doesn't it? LOL Thanks for helping me avoid lots of sparks. Is there a way to get higher voltage besides turning the POTS that was mentioned earlier?
Thank you, jj for helping me avoid a sparkling display at my workbench. :-)
fly_right is offline Find More Posts by fly_right
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Alert Need advice on high grade power supply for ISL-8 Byron Betterly Batteries and Chargers 7 Dec 07, 2003 08:31 PM
12volt, 9amp power supply for sale Paul Susbauer Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Dec 03, 2003 12:44 PM
12volt wallwart power supply reading 14.6 ? (help) power Batteries and Chargers 4 Sep 09, 2003 04:21 PM
Where to Get A Quality Power Supply? Joe Elston Batteries and Chargers 4 Apr 29, 2003 02:09 PM
High end charger and power supply for sale! Very new. ted616 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 6 Dec 02, 2002 11:31 PM