HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jul 21, 2011, 06:37 PM
Fly, be free! (splat)
United States, CA, Danville
Joined Jan 2008
1,392 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabsten View Post
I tried to set up spoilerons, but both ail are going up and down together...can't get them normal.
Did you tell the Rx to separate the channels? If you did then you should be able to reverse one of them on your Tx.
jdwolters is offline Find More Posts by jdwolters
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jul 21, 2011, 06:57 PM
Registered User
UK, Hereford and Worcester, Worcester
Joined Feb 2009
634 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabsten View Post
I tried to set up spoilerons, but both ail are going up and down together...can't get them normal.
If you've separated the ailerons (instructions somewhere on here - do a search) then you need to reverse the flaps. On my DX6i it's on the SETUP list under REVERSE, I have FLAP-R set.
aracer is offline Find More Posts by aracer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 21, 2011, 07:07 PM
Can't get enough
jabsten's Avatar
United States, WA, Puyallup
Joined May 2010
2,377 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aracer View Post
If you've separated the ailerons (instructions somewhere on here - do a search) then you need to reverse the flaps. On my DX6i it's on the SETUP list under REVERSE, I have FLAP-R set.
I will try reversing one of the ail servos. I think that will do it. You guys are great~! Thankee.


UPDATE: Rervesing the right ail serv worked. I will try some spoilerons during flight/landing. Sweet.
jabsten is offline Find More Posts by jabsten
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 02:33 AM
Micro Flyer
United Kingdom, Marham Airfield
Joined Jun 2005
784 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jabsten View Post
I will try reversing one of the ail servos. I think that will do it. You guys are great~! Thankee.


UPDATE: Rervesing the right ail serv worked. I will try some spoilerons during flight/landing. Sweet.
you are going to love it with spoilerons!
it puts the mosquito on rails when your on your approach!
lord chris is offline Find More Posts by lord chris
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 07:41 AM
Micro Flyer
United Kingdom, Marham Airfield
Joined Jun 2005
784 Posts
Has any1 converted this to brushless yet?? will the ar6400t taken twin brushless motors??? i know the sukhoi flyers have had brushless conversions....

just thinking if my motor is shot..... then id ideally like my mosquito to have that scale speed factor! considering the real mosquito was 400mph fighter bomber.
id also go for proper inboard flaps if brushless is possible.

so any1 know if brushless is an option?
Chris
lord chris is offline Find More Posts by lord chris
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:04 AM
BMFA 190658
SilentPilot's Avatar
United Kingdom, Yeadon
Joined Mar 2007
4,762 Posts
Let me know if you manage it mate!

I'm not after extra speed (though that would be nice), but the extra flight time would be more than welcome


Has anyone beefed up their wings? I pull a lot of high G aeros and now mine has noticeable dihedral that I would like to get rid of
SilentPilot is online now Find More Posts by SilentPilot
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Parkzone Ka8 telemetry install
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 08:11 AM
Micro Flyer
United Kingdom, Marham Airfield
Joined Jun 2005
784 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentPilot View Post
Let me know if you manage it mate!

I'm not after extra speed (though that would be nice), but the extra flight time would be more than welcome


Has anyone beefed up their wings? I pull a lot of high G aeros and now mine has noticeable dihedral that I would like to get rid of
iv just been looking on HK for bits for a conversion. currently reading sukhoi threads on BL conversions. hopefully its possible. i found in the uk (robotbirds.co.uk) pz servos. so might go for the inboard flaps.
just found this..... maybe this is my best option...
i have 300mah packs on the way too

your best bet would be to get some carbon rod just short of the wing span. cut a rod size channel. bond the carbon rod in the wing. then you can filler it smooth again. thats the way id approach this. possibly something i should consider if i got bl dont want any flash backs from bf109 or my glider days
lord chris is offline Find More Posts by lord chris
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 10:54 AM
Fly, be free! (splat)
United States, CA, Danville
Joined Jan 2008
1,392 Posts
I've been daydreaming about brushless for the mosquito but the ar6400t doesnt support it so it would have to be replaced with an r6400. It might require a little drilling, but the stock propellers should work nicely with an AP05 motor and the 1S power shown above.

I've done a brushless conversion like this on my UM P51 - you won't get any more power or flight time because the 1S gearbox is very efficient; what you will get is total reliability. After a while I upgraded to 2S which required a different propeller to work well. Although I love 2S on the mustang, I would want to keep the three-blade counter-rotating props on the mossie so that means sticking with 1S.

Having to replace the ar6400t makes brushless conversion rather expensive.
jdwolters is offline Find More Posts by jdwolters
Last edited by jdwolters; Jul 22, 2011 at 02:03 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 03:14 PM
F18
Registered User
United States, MA, Onset
Joined Apr 2008
233 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord chris View Post
iv just been looking on HK for bits for a conversion. currently reading sukhoi threads on BL conversions. hopefully its possible. i found in the uk (robotbirds.co.uk) pz servos. so might go for the inboard flaps.
just found this..... maybe this is my best option...
i have 300mah packs on the way too

your best bet would be to get some carbon rod just short of the wing span. cut a rod size channel. bond the carbon rod in the wing. then you can filler it smooth again. thats the way id approach this. possibly something i should consider if i got bl dont want any flash backs from bf109 or my glider days
Lord Chris, SilentPilot.......regarding the carbon fiber rod reinforcement.....depending on the length and gauge of rod being imbedded.....you can force a carbon fiber rod down through the center of the foam core of the wing or stabilizers with a little twisting/drilling action. No need to cut a channel or use filler.
Use a straight pin to penetrate the foam rind/skin first then insert the rod and drill/thread in down it's length. I use a little Foam Safe CA on the first inch of the rod.... it seems to lubricate but I do it to lock in the rod when it dries.

All my UM planes have Carbon fiber rod wing reinforcement added, down into the root of the wing at the fuselage. On all, I only use about 5-6" of CF rod..... .030" (.8mm) gauge. This seems to do the trick for me with my style of aggressive flying......mostly in winds
F18 is offline Find More Posts by F18
Last edited by F18; Jul 22, 2011 at 03:31 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 03:45 PM
BMFA 190658
SilentPilot's Avatar
United Kingdom, Yeadon
Joined Mar 2007
4,762 Posts
Sounds good, I'll try that
SilentPilot is online now Find More Posts by SilentPilot
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Parkzone Ka8 telemetry install
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 03:57 PM
F18
Registered User
United States, MA, Onset
Joined Apr 2008
233 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SilentPilot View Post
Sounds good, I'll try that
I have never tried this technique with more than 5-6" of CF rod....did not have a need to. So if you do it for the full length of the wing I would be curious how you make out.

Cheers
F18 is offline Find More Posts by F18
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 04:12 PM
Micro Flyer
United Kingdom, Marham Airfield
Joined Jun 2005
784 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by F18 View Post
Lord Chris, SilentPilot.......regarding the carbon fiber rod reinforcement.....depending on the length and gauge of rod being imbedded.....you can force a carbon fiber rod down through the center of the foam core of the wing or stabilizers with a little twisting/drilling action. No need to cut a channel or use filler.
Use a straight pin to penetrate the foam rind/skin first then insert the rod and drill/thread in down it's length. I use a little Foam Safe CA on the first inch of the rod.... it seems to lubricate but I do it to lock in the rod when it dries.

All my UM planes have Carbon fiber rod wing reinforcement added, down into the root of the wing at the fuselage. On all, I only use about 5-6" of CF rod..... .030" (.8mm) gauge. This seems to do the trick for me with my style of aggressive flying......mostly in winds
i never thought of just push/twisting a cf rod in! would probably work quite well. guess it is a patient process to make it in a smooth straight line.
lord chris is offline Find More Posts by lord chris
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 04:30 PM
F18
Registered User
United States, MA, Onset
Joined Apr 2008
233 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by lord chris View Post
i never thought of just push/twisting a cf rod in! would probably work quite well. guess it is a patient process to make it in a smooth straight line.
There is some flex in the gauge of the rod that I use that can get you off course. But with my first attemps I started using a twisting/drilling motion while I pushed which helped a lot.

The great thing is it adds a lot of strength without much additional weight and filler. There is no cutting that would compromise the higher density skin of the foam and it is invisible.
F18 is offline Find More Posts by F18
Last edited by F18; Jul 22, 2011 at 06:02 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 04:37 PM
Registered User
UK, Hereford and Worcester, Worcester
Joined Feb 2009
634 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jdwolters View Post
Having to replace the ar6400t makes brushless conversion rather expensive.
You could use a signal converter instead, which would make it rather cheaper - certainly wouldn't be a significant factor compared to all the other brushless stuff.

I guess you're not after the ultimate in lightweight with a Mossie, but http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s..._ESC_3_5A.html is probably still a handy ESC, and http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ar_Servo_.html for adding inner flaps.
aracer is offline Find More Posts by aracer
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 22, 2011, 05:51 PM
Fly, be free! (splat)
United States, CA, Danville
Joined Jan 2008
1,392 Posts
Is there a micro signal converter? That would be nice. The servo looks great; I think I would stick with the XP3A and use it's connectors.
jdwolters is offline Find More Posts by jdwolters
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product New Hobby-Lobby micro P-51 and Spirfire! - direct competitor to Parkzone Ultra Micro? Smokescreen38 Micro Ready-to-Fly 316 Aug 23, 2012 12:51 AM
Discussion Parkzone New Ultra Micro Mosquito Mk VI ChuckTseeker Scratchbuilt Indoor and Micro Models 4 Feb 03, 2011 02:22 AM
For Sale parkzone ultra micro J-3 cub BNF trade for micro trojan ED3 Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 3 Nov 06, 2010 03:19 AM
Sold Moved to micro section -Parkzone Sukhoi SU-26m Ultra Micro BNF - w/ Lots of new parts major.monogram Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Jun 08, 2010 01:00 AM
Found Parkzone Ultra Micro P-51D BNF (New or like new condition) CGReload Aircraft - Electric - Micro & Indoor Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Oct 09, 2009 02:28 PM