New Products Flash Sale
Old Aug 20, 2012, 02:17 PM
Find More Posts by progmateur
Joined Aug 2012
4 Posts
Discussion
knowledge

I am a newbie in this forum.I have great affinity for Remote Controlled vehicles since childhood.What branch of engineering should I opt for in order to know about remote controlled signals in details.
progmateur is offline Find More Posts by progmateur
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 20, 2012, 02:39 PM
Find More Posts by ChillPhatCat
AMA 537620
United States, NY, Lafayette
Joined Oct 2008
5,938 Posts
If you want to know the inner workings of all the electronics and the science behind them, then electrical engineering is probably what you want.

Before you jump into a bachelor's program, make sure you've got all your ducks in a row though. I had a hell of a time with Calc 1 because of a very bad algebra teacher in high school... it cost me a lot of money to recover from that mistake and finally get on the right path toward my degree in aerospace engineering. It would have done me good to get Algebra, Calc I, and Chemistry from a community college before going to a 4 year school.

Solid understanding of algebra, trig and geometry is a must as is a real determination to do well in the fundamental classes. Go to class (nobody realizes how tempting it is to skip til they get to college), take lots of notes, study hard and work with other people to understand all concepts in the homework.
ChillPhatCat is online now Find More Posts by ChillPhatCat
Old Aug 20, 2012, 03:24 PM
Find More Posts by cmdl
http://www.sgvhumane.org/
United States, CA, Rosemead
Joined Jan 2012
13,264 Posts
@progmateur - as ChillPhatCat said - engineering is a lot of math. i have an electrical engineering degree and i worked hard to earn it. its 3/4 math and 1/4 physics. a lot of theoretical work comes in before you do application.

@ChillPhatCat - saw your location. i went to SU incidentally - did you go there too?
cmdl is offline Find More Posts by cmdl