HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jun 20, 2012, 10:08 PM
Joined Jul 2005
76 Posts
Discussion
If you were the CD what would you do?

I'm new to the CD role and had the following situation:
call to launch verify every one is ready.
Start the 10 sec launch window and one of the contestants motor will not start. All the other pilots are in the air, the 10 sec launch window expires then he discovers that his cam unit had become disconnected.
I gave him a zero for the round and did not permit a refilght.

Is this the correct desicion? or should he have been allowed to have a refilght?
If you give him a reflight do you call everyone else in to land and refly with the same flight group? Place him in the next flight group? or let him fly solo and compare his time to those in his orginal flight group?
GliderDriver45 is offline Find More Posts by GliderDriver45
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 20, 2012, 10:18 PM
Australia, WA, Perth
Joined Oct 2003
902 Posts
While the 0 is a fair call as he didnt fly in his originally scheduled slot due to his own error, I would probably let him refly in another flight group.
lesterpk is offline Find More Posts by lesterpk
Old Jun 21, 2012, 02:04 AM
MrE
United States, WA, Gig Harbor
Joined Aug 2007
2,819 Posts
We tend to be pretty relaxed in our club contests, so I would have just let him start late as long as it was only a few seconds or maybe even up to a minute. If it took longer to get resolved and he wanted to do it, I would let him do a re-flight at some point.

If it was a larger contest or a regional event or something like that, then I would be more strict with the rules.
MrE is online now Find More Posts by MrE
Old Jun 21, 2012, 08:13 AM
Maryland
Joined Dec 2002
407 Posts