Old May 22, 2015, 05:15 PM
Find More Posts by Edubarca
Edubarca
Colombia, South America
Joined Oct 2009
1,495 Posts
Help!
Lockheed U2 Spy plane building project

Hello everybody, greetings from Colombia. I have decided to build the famous Lockheed U-2 Spyplane for ducted fan. I got the plans of the 1/8 scale model designed by the late Jack Lynn Bale. It is all balsa and ply and relatively easy to build. I need lots of advice on what electric ducted fan unit I can use for my model. It has 117 inches wingspan. I have never built a ducted fan model before so I need lots of help and advice. I fly near Bogotá at an elevation of 8.250 feet. I know electrics don't lose any power but the plane has to fly faster for lift. Thanks for your advice and help.

EDUARDO
Edubarca is offline Find More Posts by Edubarca
to remove ads between posts
Old May 22, 2015, 06:13 PM
Find More Posts by CoolerByTheLake
Do it Right, the first time!
United States, MN, Hermantown
Joined Dec 2008
6,980 Posts
EDUARDO , as for the building part of your project, check out the Scratch build forum--
http://www.rcgroups.com/scratchbuilt-edfs-686/ several guys have done this one..

As far as elevation goes, can't help you out there-- I'm at 1400 ft.
CoolerByTheLake is offline Find More Posts by CoolerByTheLake
Old May 22, 2015, 06:17 PM
Edubarca
Colombia, South America
Joined Oct 2009
1,495 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by CoolerByTheLake View Post
EDUARDO , as for the building part of your project, check out the Scratch build forum--
http://www.rcgroups.com/scratchbuilt-edfs-686/ several guys have done this one..

As far as elevation goes, can't help you out there-- I'm at 1400 ft.
Thanks!! Yes elevation is there. However, I want to know if I need a different fan or motor etc. Your help is appreciated very much.

EDUARDO
Old May 22, 2015, 07:44 PM
Joined Dec 2008
6,980 Posts
Quote:
I got the plans of the 1/8 scale model designed by the late Jack Lynn Bale.