Old Aug 25, 2008, 05:28 PM
Find More Posts by flyingrally
Where did Steve go ?
Alexandra
Joined Jul 2007
3,325 Posts
Build Log
Top Flite P-40 Warhawk

Did a fair bit of searching and can't find anything in the forum on this great plane in either gas or electric. Being an electric fan I am going to finish a 2/3 completed kit recently purchased as electric.
flyingrally is offline Find More Posts by flyingrally
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 25, 2008, 08:39 PM
Find More Posts by ram-bro
Omaha
Joined Aug 2003
40 Posts
I will be taking an interest in your conversion. I will be interested in how you figure the motor, battery and esc selections. I am new to electrics
ram-bro is offline Find More Posts by ram-bro
Old Aug 25, 2008, 09:02 PM
Find More Posts by Ron101
Pursuit of Happiness
Brentwood, California
Joined Jul 2007
7,366 Posts
Cool plane.. I had one years ago
I threw a blade off the prop!! it had a saito 180 at full power in mid air the prop exploded then hit the wing and riped about a 1/4 off... then spun into the ground!!

I'm running a hacker in my mustang and just love it!! but mine only 8.5 pounds..

I'd say your top flight will be 11 to 13 pounds with batteries ready to fly..

so I vote for the A50-16l with a 17x12 prop on 8s.. that's about 1600 watts..
that will give you 133 watts per pound if you hit 12 pounds anything more will be gravy

good luck and keep us posted

Ron
Ron101 is offline Find More Posts by Ron101
Old Aug 26, 2008, 04:30 PM
Find More Posts by gtfreeflyer
Put a bigger motor on it!
Costa Mesa, CA
Joined Feb 2007
1,587 Posts
I had this plane too and flew it as glow. It flew great, but went down in a Hollywood style movie crash on the 4th flight due to old equipment on board. I loved the build so much I bought another Top-Flite Gold Edition kit... the Corsair. Trying to convert that to electric now too. Will keep my eye out on your project.
gtfreeflyer is offline Find More Posts by gtfreeflyer
Old Aug 26, 2008, 05:52 PM