HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Apr 27, 2010, 02:54 AM
smithy
Cornwall, UK
Joined Dec 2004
524 Posts
Build Log
SU25K Frogfoot

Well i've decided to move the build thread over here. Progress so far, started laying up 1/16 balsa skin but made a right botch up of it so i have removed skin from nose section and will redo it using the strip planking method. The nose shape was all wrong. The next one will have moulded nose cone aswell as moulded intakes as there are some tight curves in these areas. Must admit i've never done strip planking before so here goes nothing!!

Phil

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1208235
jumpy is offline Find More Posts by jumpy
to remove ads between posts
Old Apr 27, 2010, 11:38 AM
Las Vegas, NV
Joined Dec 1996
7,926 Posts
The way to get smoothly flowing curves is to use long (lengthwise/horizontal), continuous strips of wood that run over several bulkheads. That way the natural bend in the wood will give you your curve, and the skin will be stronger because it's a continuous peice vs having a butt joint in the skin at each bulkhead. Stip planking is what it's called.

Why use strip planking? It's best used for a compound curve, a curve that curves in two directions, like often found on fighter's nose. As said before if your bulkheads are correct it will give you a natural curve from the bent wood, if you glue the strips correctly. If it's a simple cylinder, like say a roll of toilet paper, then bending big balsa sheets is easier that using multiple strips (less joints to sand).