HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 08, 2012, 02:57 PM
Registered User
Joined Dec 2011
249 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Banjo5 View Post
Good to know, thanks. Given the number of "inelegant ground encounters" I've had learning with my v929 I think robustness is an important selection criteria.

Are you pushing the props on this one, or using adapters of some sort?

cheers,
Andrew
Have been using the collet adapters that came with the motors. Making them fit on props with 3mm.

Have also used these: http://www.leaderhobby.com/product.asp?ID=9394001226924
eirikso is offline Find More Posts by eirikso
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 08, 2012, 03:06 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
31 Posts
there they are but please help me
dvdt is offline Find More Posts by dvdt
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 03:32 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,336 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdt View Post
there they are but please help me
I would disconnect all the cables between your KK2 & RX. Then connect only 1. Put it on the throttle channel, and test it to see if just the 1 channel receives signal.

I would also check to make sure you do not have CPPM enabled.
AcroFPV is offline Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 03:43 PM
jhi
Registered User
jhi's Avatar
Norway
Joined Jun 2009
173 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdt View Post
there they are but please help me
Please double check the RX ground connections. On my Futaba Orange RX the ground connection is located on the channel label side. If that is the case on your RX, it looks like all your RX connections are turned upside down.

NOTE! Don't change it unless you are 100% sure!

/Jan
jhi is online now Find More Posts by jhi
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 03:47 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by dvdt View Post
Hi guys i bought a spektrum dx6i and 2 6 channel orange receiver's and i have all plugged write and i move the sticks and in the kk2 receiver monitor is like i have even moving any thing but the receiver works and the transmitter to and when i turn off the transmitter appears no signal in the kk2 but when i turn on it goes to 0 and do not move from that. Please help me
Bind the receiver to the transmitter
Turn on the DX6i and then wait 5 seconds
Power on the KK2 (quad)
Perform the receiver test
Perform the acc/gyro calibration
Etc.

With the DX6i and the OrangeRx, the transmitter needs to be powered on first.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 03:55 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jhi View Post
Please double check the RX ground connections. On my Futaba Orange RX the ground connection is located on the channel label side. If that is the case on your RX, it looks like all your RX connections are turned upside down.

NOTE! Don't change it unless you are 100% sure!

/Jan
They're correct for the DX6i OrangeRX. The ground cable (brown/black) is opposite the channel label and the signal (orange/white) is closest to the channel label.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 04:28 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
31 Posts
Thanks all done. I just click in restore default and everything just start working. Thanks.
What is CPPM?
dvdt is offline Find More Posts by dvdt
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 04:32 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Sacramento
Joined Aug 2012
3,336 Posts
Google CPPM.
AcroFPV is offline Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 04:39 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
31 Posts
i was waiting a more simple explanation
dvdt is offline Find More Posts by dvdt
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 04:43 PM
Registered User
Joined Feb 2012
31 Posts
OHHHH Is like s-bus. Ok now i understand
dvdt is offline Find More Posts by dvdt
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 06:28 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Learning to fly Hunter V- Tail with KK2.0 and a crash

Hunter V-Tail (9 min 6 sec)
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 07:47 PM
Registered User
United States, TX, Richmond
Joined Aug 2010
1,282 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by tech69x View Post
Learning to fly Hunter V- Tail with KK2.0 and a crash
Nice job! You're handling it very well.
rcjose is offline Find More Posts by rcjose
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 08:08 PM
Custom quad builder
tech69x's Avatar
United States, TX, Spring
Joined Apr 2012
2,364 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by rcjose View Post
Nice job! You're handling it very well.
Thanks it's a hand full
tech69x is offline Find More Posts by tech69x
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 08:34 PM
Registered User
Canada, ON, Merrickville-Wolford
Joined Jun 2012
835 Posts
Success!!

Success! First flight of my tricopter tonight :-). Pretty tentative because it was in a small pool of light in a small dark back garden. Need to make some skids to get it off the ground a bit too. Also first successful flight with my old Airtronics Vision radio that I converted to 2.4Ghz using the FrSky DIY module. Can't wait to try it tomorrow with more space.

Many thanks to everyone here, because I followed all your experiences the KK2 setup was pretty straight forward. Just used the receiver test to get things going in the right direction, had to reverse the yaw channel, and that's about it. Lots of bizzare tones during the ESC calibration, but they seem to be working. Using the 1.2 Firmware with all stock settings right now. Have the tail prop spinning opposite to the "official" directions just because I didn't have a reverse orange prop.

The tail lifts first, despite being tail heavy if anything, but a touch of pitch to correct and all is good.

I am also really glad I got the little v929 quad to fly first, it was a good trainer.

Components heavily influenced by hallstudio (big thanks). RCtimer 2830-8 1300kv motors, GWS 8x4 props, f20A ESC's (stock fw for now, will flash soon ... just wanted to see the difference), 2200 3S battery. RCexplorer yaw mount using the nose gear mounts.

cheers,
Andrew
Banjo5 is offline Find More Posts by Banjo5
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 08, 2012, 09:16 PM
la fabrique circulaire
terry74's Avatar
geneva
Joined Jan 2008
550 Posts
LCD replacement

for Mr KK: this post could be on you Q&A?

---------------------------------------------------------

like some other here,I get a bad batch of LCD....

I find a cheap alternative to the JHD12864-COG06B stock LCD on ebay,this is the JHD508:
http://cgi.ebay.fr/Graphic-COG-LCD-M...item2c5117cd57

not the same plug,not the same pins but it work!!

you need a 0.8mm iron tip for doing this job and have solid experience in micro work.

it is not a newbie job!!!

first you have to prepare the JHD508 with 0.12 to 0.2mm insulated wire:

(note the way pins goes 1 to 21,also you have to remove 2 small corner of the plexi with cuter on the stock back light piece to properly install the JHD508 on it,I also glue(both side) the ribbon to the LCD)

then joint it to the KK PCB using this:

(note that it is the JHD12864-COG06B pins on KK board)


(JHD12864-COG06B pins(on KK board) to JHD508 pins)


I decided to test it without the pin 8 cap and.....it work!!!

done:


note that pin 2 and 8 of JHD508 are not connected(don't forget to jump it).

final test


with back light


enjoy

Jay
terry74 is offline Find More Posts by terry74
Last edited by terry74; Oct 08, 2012 at 09:33 PM.
Reply With Quote