AvB
Wind, hill, ... I'm keen ...
Australia, QLD, Woody Point
Joined Nov 2006
4,383 Posts
Discussion
Choice of CAM package

Hi,
Firstly I have not yet been a regular reader of this section and I apologize for asking a question that's probably been answered a hundred times.

I'm a very amateur slope soaring sailplane guy who's done some composite construction, designing some models including the "Scratcho" that I really like and making vac bagged or hand shaped plugs and casting moulds etc. I made about 14 versions of the Scratcho, and wanted to improve the design. I got interested in CNC and (fast forward) I eventually decided to get one and learn the process from scratch,and next week I am about to take delivery of my own big CNC mill. There's a thread about it here: http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=1968257

I've been learning Rhino, using the Mac free WIP version. I've reached the point where I can draw up a wing, and a wing mould, but I'd barely know where to start to draw a fuselage, for example to copy the Scratcho fuz authentically.

The guys who sell the machine are training me in using Aspire for toolpaths, and Mach3.

Considering that the most critical stuff I will be cutting will be wings and aerodynamic shapes I'd like to learn a CAM package that's best suited to that.

My question is which CAM software would you recommend that I buy and learn?

My thoughts have been to take on RhinoCAM or MadCAM, because it is an extension of the Rhino environment I've been learning. I've set up a Windows PC now, because although I've learnt some Rhino on the Mac, all of the CAM packages including the Rhino plugins are Windows only. In fact there are no plugins available for the Rhino OSX for Mac. So I plan to purchase Rhino for Windows and switch to using that instead of using the free Mac version. My kids are learning this stuff at school and will be playing with the machine too so I'm hoping I can get an educational license version.