HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 09, 2012, 09:01 PM
Joined Aug 2003
2,629 Posts
Discussion
Computer generated shapes

I've been playing with Blender, a 3D rendering program with some capability in CAD. I wanted a wing with curved dihedral and I got that. As I started playing, the thought occurred that some shapes seen on RC planes arent picked for their aerodynamic quality, but come to be more because they are done by computer.

The way I made my wing model was to extrude the basic airfoil curve by following 2 curves, one for planform and the other for taper. As I fiddled with these curves, I saw shapes I'd seen on other models, mostly sailplanes and some ARF park flyers.

Know what I mean, Vern?
HELModels is online now Find More Posts by HELModels
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 09, 2012, 10:20 PM
Joined Aug 2003
2,629 Posts
I should give an example I guess. I'm not sure this shape is aerodynamically superior or inferior, but it is easy to generate with a computer. The pointed tip and the recurve on the traling edge seem characteristic of a computer. This is the shape I've seen on lots of foam parkflyers and some sailplanes.
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:10 AM
B for Bruce
The 'Wack, BC, Canada
Joined Oct 2002
11,231 Posts
The "shark fin" like wing tip planform is done for aerodynamic reasons and not simply because it looks good or is easy to draw in CAD or whatever.

The shape is done to death these days in model designs where low drag performance matters because this shape tends to produce the smallest tip vortex shape. And a small vortex off the tip means less drag.

The fact that it's easy to generate in something like Blender or in CAD is just a side bonus.
BMatthews is online now Find More Posts by BMatthews
Old Dec 10, 2012, 12:46 AM
The Great Filter
Joined Jan 2007
3,534 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by BMatthews View Post