HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Sep 19, 2012, 08:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
27 Posts
Discussion
Logger update failed - bricked?

I downloaded the correct software v6.93 for my version 1 logger.
The software recognised my logger. After a few tries it did update my logger since it said update complete.

But, now the logger is not recognised when plugging it in an usb port. All the leds remain off. No sound from windows when plugging it in.
A windows reboot did not help and also another computer did not recognise it.

Apparantly something went wrong.

After email support the answer I got from them that I have to buy a new one .

That is unacceptable. They broke it and they have to fix it.

Is there anyone who can help?
gelevogel is offline Find More Posts by gelevogel
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 21, 2012, 01:56 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,921 Posts
Hi, sorry to hear about your issue with the eLogger V1. I am not sure whether the the device's microcontroller just failed during the update, or something went wrong with the update internally. Normally we offer an out of warranty, fee based repair for equipment like this, but unfortunately we don't have any of the parts for the V1 around (we haven't sold those for around 7 years).

Please open a support ticket with us at ticket.eagletreesystems.com and reference this thread (or update your existing ticket with a link to this thread) and we'll figure out what we can do.
billpa is online now Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2012, 02:48 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
27 Posts
Hi Billpa,

I just did that. Ticket number: Ticket #787439

Oh, I think it is version 2 since I got it from hobby king a few years ago. Not 7 years ago more like 3-4 years
gelevogel is offline Find More Posts by gelevogel
Last edited by gelevogel; Sep 21, 2012 at 02:53 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Sep 25, 2012, 12:02 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
27 Posts
Wow,

I just got an email from Eagletreesystems.
They send me a new V2 unit. I will receive it in a week or so.

It's good to see a company with that kind of service.
In the future I will buy more products from them!

Thanks for all your help Billpa.
gelevogel is offline Find More Posts by gelevogel
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 12:30 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
27 Posts
Hi Billpa,


I received a new V2 logger with some instructions. Thank you very much.

I received a message from the support ticket site:" The MicroPower V2 unit we're sending has been updated for the latest firmware release for that unit using our 6.93 legacy software available from the following link:

http://www.eagletreesystems.com/Late...y/setup693.exe

Please make sure that you only use this software for the V2 unit as it is likely that down-dating the firmware or using it with a more recent release would likely "brick" the unit.

"


After installation of the 693 software it asks to update the firmware from version 5.12 to 5.41.

Why do I get this message. You wrote in your previous mail that you have updated it already to the latest version. So I thought I would not see that message.

Is this correct or is there a conflict with the (removed) newer software?

Shall I upgrade it to ver 5.41? (there is no answer to that last question from the support site)

Thank you!
gelevogel is offline Find More Posts by gelevogel
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 01:21 PM
billpa's Avatar
Joined Nov 2003
4,921 Posts
Hi, yes, please update the unit to 5.41. That is the correct version. Please let me know if you have any issues!
billpa is online now Find More Posts by billpa
Site Sponsor
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 09, 2012, 02:12 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
27 Posts
Hi Billpa,

Thank you. It is working now.
gelevogel is offline Find More Posts by gelevogel
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 02:34 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
65 Posts
Hi,
I have had exactly the same problem
I didn't use the unit since years, so I reinstalled the software (legacy version ofc) and it asked me to update the firmware: micropower bricked! No LED, no recognition of USB, nothing. Just dead.
It's a pity because I used the unit very little! I own also RPM and temperature sensors, and just bought accelerometer sensor for it...

I'm going to open a ticket like Gelevogel, is there a wait to try and repair the unit? Even with some soldering...

PS: My unit is Micropower V2 like Gelevogel.
Entropia666 is offline Find More Posts by Entropia666
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 2013, 09:52 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
27 Posts
Hi,

Yes I had to wait a little bit,but they send me a working one.
I'm happy with their customer service.
gelevogel is offline Find More Posts by gelevogel
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 01:11 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2006
65 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by gelevogel View Post
Hi,

Yes I had to wait a little bit,but they send me a working one.
I'm happy with their customer service.
Yes I read your thread, it seems they are really taking care of the customer!
I hope I will have a replacement like you. Unfortunately I'm in Europe, I hope it's not too expensive to send it here.
Nevertheless, did you try to revive the unit somehow?
Entropia666 is offline Find More Posts by Entropia666
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2013, 06:29 AM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
27 Posts
It won't cost you anything...
gelevogel is offline Find More Posts by gelevogel
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion Update! Faulty HK Red Brick 30a ESC.. oh wow. johnwohl Power Systems 5 Sep 11, 2012 09:11 AM
Help! E-logger V3 as long as connect USB,may be asked to update! funshwen Eagle Tree Systems 1 May 16, 2012 05:15 PM
Help! OSD version UNKNOWN and fail to update (error) dROb Eagle Tree Systems 9 May 16, 2012 05:12 PM
Discussion Toledo 2012 Update: RC LOGGER Quad Copter/ Video Goodness! Jim T. Graham Toledo Weak Signals Show 2012 1 Apr 14, 2012 06:24 PM
Help! Firmware update error with OSD pro ONLY Data Logger and Gardian firmware update works whosthebaddest Eagle Tree Systems 10 Mar 17, 2012 05:26 AM