HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 16, 2003, 10:48 PM
into the wild blue yonder
great northwest
Joined Dec 2002
39 Posts
Question
GWS MC2002, What power for indoor use?

OK, I am new to the RC Game. I am building a Tiger Moth, I am using GWS 150mah and 270mah Nicd's. I bought the GWS MC 2002 charger, but I didn't realize when I bought it, (didn't see anything saying it was DC only) that I had to have 12v power supply. I would like to charge these at home before going to the field. Don't have a PC PSU. My question is What do most of you use to power this charger? I really don't want a car battery in the house. Can I use a 12v lantern type battery? I have done several searches for this on the site, but can't find the answer I'm looking for. Thanks for the help. Saturn
saturn360 is offline Find More Posts by saturn360
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 17, 2003, 02:51 PM
Westchester County, NY, USA
Joined Jun 2000
2,442 Posts
I use sealded lead acid batteries in my field box to power my lead acid batteries. I buy mine from www.arcade-electronics.com
My Supernova chargers and now my new Tritons work great being powered by these batteries. The only problem is that you will have to buy another charger to charge the new battery. The chargers are inexpensive and the cheapest are of the wall-wart type. I would get something in the 10 to 12 amp range.
http://www.arcade-electronics.com/po...-batteries.htm
Danny Troy is offline Find More Posts by Danny Troy
Old Jan 17, 2003, 06:39 PM
Utah USA
Joined Jun 2002
2,232 Posts
I have used mine with both a converted computer power supply and the the pyramid 10 amp power supply with great results up to 6 amps. Search the forum for Pyramid Power Supplies for purchasing sources they are a great value.
WickedFunRC is offline Find More Posts by WickedFunRC
Site Sponsor
Latest blog entry: Latest Video's
Old Jan 17, 2003, 06:56 PM
Space Coast USA
Space Coast
Joined Oct 2000
20,699 Posts