Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Jun 26, 2007, 10:34 AM
Heli Addict....
West Dundee, Il.
Joined Nov 2003
1,937 Posts
Help!
First autorotation - Not so good

Im lucky that next to my normal flying field (soccer) is a nice farm field of wheat. I figured it was time to finally try an auto since I have a place that could help lessen the impact of landing.

My heli is a Trex-400 hybrid running Trex wood 315's. I have my HOLD set to -3 degrees pitch and was flying in ID2 (2600RPM) when I hit the hold. It was about 75' up and moving forward in a relatively slow FF.

Hit the switch, dropped the collective, and she really came down FAST. I got to a couple of feet above the wheat, little bit of flare and started full collective but it didnt seem to slow down much at all. I could really see the blades lost all their energy.

Belt tightness seems perfect, I have lubed everything and the heil is well broken in. I have reviewed Finless' videos for a smooth heli as well as his auto videos, but for the life of me I couldnt see why I lost all the blade energy that fast.

So, does anyone out there have any thoughts as to what to try next? Bigger blades? Forget auto's in a 400 size?

Oh, and no damage I love that field....

Thanks...
Ecaf is offline Find More Posts by Ecaf
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 26, 2007, 10:55 AM
=>] Smack 3D Head [<=
United States, CA, Chico
Joined Feb 2007
3,120 Posts
I got off to a bad start this morning here at work, high stress job, so I sat down in my office to read the forum. I saw your post and I thought it was going to lead to a part search in a field. I have to tell you it made me feel better that you had no damage.
HeliSmith is offline Find More Posts by HeliSmith
Old Jun 26, 2007, 10:59 AM
Heli Addict....
West Dundee, Il.
Joined Nov 2003
1,937 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by HeliSmith