HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 20, 2012, 04:44 AM
Just shut up and build!
Sri Lanka
Joined Mar 2010
642 Posts
Discussion
Micro RTP in racetrack pattern?

After trying to imagine micro RC flight in the limited area that I have available, and considering the costs involved, I am beginning to explore the area of RTP and control line flying especially miro RTP.

Some discussion and links:

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showthread.php?t=175693

http://www.modelflying.co.uk/forums/...p?th=34517&p=1

Micro servos are available as wll for low cost:

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...tSortOrder=asc

I have some control line flying experience (Cox 0.049 model) . Seeing the control line models on You Tube - quite impressive, and fast, a lot of zooming and diving is possible, and the model is really flying.

Flying round and round in circles is not a very nice option, however if the circuit can be flattenned to a racetrack pattern which many RC models fly in any case, I think it would be very entertaining.

Control would be through a RC transmitter type box with stick controls, but signals as well as power will be carried though analogue wire to the throttle, elevators and maybe landing gear and ailerons.

So here goes - the start of an ambitious project to create a flying model system that will fly in confined spaces and
be affordable and realistic as well.

Comments?
knlever is offline Find More Posts by knlever
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:07 AM
Slipping the Surly Bonds
Attica, MI
Joined Dec 2006
10,334 Posts
Interesting!

As children, my brother and I received a Christmas gift in the early 70's of a really cool toy by Mattel, called the Dareplane Stunter. It was a hoot, but did not last too long.

Similar concept.

Ken

dz1sfb is offline Find More Posts by dz1sfb
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Mini H Quad Project
Old Dec 20, 2012, 06:09 AM
Slipping the Surly Bonds
Attica, MI
Joined Dec 2006
10,334 Posts