HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 24, 2013, 02:43 AM
Joined Jan 2013
18 Posts
Discussion
New to boats, need guidance!

So I'm new to the hobby, well just boats. I've been reading through all these blogs of people building there hulls from scratch and it is something I want to do. I have plans for a 42" Cat, i think, and i will try to get it printed in A0 paper so i can just trace and cut. I'm going to use 1/8" Basswood for the beams and structural parts and then wrap it in 1/32" Basswood. I pretty much am clueless to what I am doing so i'm just going to wing it. Plus i live in china so stuff is pretty cheap here. If I could get some advice on things to do and not do that would be awesome. Everyone on this site seems very helpful and follow people on there builds with help and excitment. Thats pretty much what I'd like to see happen. I'd like the boat to be fast but still handle good as I am a rookie to boats. So what would be a good set-up as far as motor and ESC?
Ratlander is offline Find More Posts by Ratlander
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 24, 2013, 05:11 AM
Steps? What steps?
United States, TX, Humble
Joined Jan 2010
218 Posts
Don't use basswood for the frames and planking. Use 3mm and 1.5mm aircraft plywood respectively as a minimum, 6mm and 2mm would be better. Basswood is soft and will split easily, plywood is much stronger. Fiber glassing the hull after it is built would also be a good idea. Extra weight is not a big problem with modern power, a little extra weight in the hull is better than adding lead later.

As for power - how fast do you want to go, how much do you want to spend, and how long do you want to run? With FE boats, the faster you go the shorter your run times. I'd suggest a 10S single motor setup. A Castle 2028/780 Kv motor or equivalent, 200+ amp ESC and 10S2P/5000 mAh cells would be a good top end setup. You could run this boat on 6S at a slower speed and less run time, up to you.