SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Feb 17, 2014, 12:18 PM
Find More Posts by hyperjase
Joined Feb 2014
2 Posts
Help!
Newbie - Flying MJX T40-C

Hi all,

I'm new at flying Helicopters, always wanted to - I bought the MJX T40-C (one with the camera on it). Managed to get it off the ground for around 3 seconds .... I thought these were a lot more stable than regular heli's!

My problem appears to be, when I throttle up, it wanders to the left ... not spinning, just crawls left and I can't fully take off. I'm trying this indoors just to make sure there is no wind whatsoever.

I know I can trim fore/aft and left/right to stop spinning but I can't find anything to help the side movement.

Am I missing something?

Please be gentle on a newbie!

Thanks
hyperjase is offline Find More Posts by hyperjase
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 17, 2014, 01:22 PM
Find More Posts by mihcmac
United States, HI, Keaau
Joined Aug 2013
1,059 Posts
wandering to the left on lift off is normal.. this is caused by ground effect, air pressure reacting to torque between the heli and the ground.. it should settle down once it's a couple of feet in the air.. wandering to the left will happen if you lift off too slowly, give it about 1/2 throttle and let it jump into the air.. then back off a little, don't let it go through the ceiling.. make all throttle changes slowly once in the air..

being a 3 channel it does not have side to side control but uses the flybar on the top rotor to stabilize automatically.
mihcmac is offline Find More Posts by mihcmac
Last edited by mihcmac; Feb 17, 2014 at 01:31 PM.
Old Feb 17, 2014, 01:25 PM
Find More Posts by hyperjase
Joined Feb 2014
2 Posts
Brilliant, thanks, I've just tried it again and it does seem better when you get it into the air slightly ... being near the coast doesn't help outside - just a slight breeze and I'm struggling!

Thanks again!
hyperjase is offline Find More Posts by hyperjase
Old Feb 17, 2014, 01:28 PM
Find More Posts by Balr14