HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 15, 2007, 08:39 AM
Oh no...hot glue is gone again
Tennessee
Joined Feb 2007
922 Posts
Help!
Beginner here, where to start?

I am interested in learning 3d flying. I guess I should start out with basic easy-to-fly planes and helis. Air hogs has some that are good to start out with.

I am looking for reccomendations. What should I start out with? It can't be expensive and should be able to survive some crashes. I would like to fly planes & helis in more than just circles. My Havoc heli is fun but you can't do any real stunts with it. So what should I start with? A basic easy-to-fly foam plane or what? Also what 3d helis should I look at. I am new to RC flying so I have a lot of questions. Thanks in advance to anyone who can help.
catman529 is offline Find More Posts by catman529
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 15, 2007, 11:26 AM
D/FW
Joined Aug 2004
704 Posts
Some of this depends on your definition of expensive. You probably want an EPP plane for durability. There are several out there to choose from. Probably the most popular ones come from e-foamies. They have an excellent 3D trainer, the Revolution 3D. It's around $95 and can be crashed numerous times with little or no damage. Any damage that you have from any crash will be a tear in the EPP foam, which is easily repaired in minutes with UHU Creativ glue. They also offer an Extra 300 and Yak 54 that are more advanced and also more expensive. I have flown both the Revolution and Extra 300 and I can assure you that they are both great. I'd rate them very high in both the way they fly and crashability/repairability. They also have a Mini-Revolution 3D that is even cheaper if you are flying indoors. Go to e-foamies.com and check them out. You won't be disappointed if you go this route.