SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Sep 19, 2011, 11:34 AM
United States, TX, Fort Worth
Joined Sep 2011
60 Posts
Discussion
1st Thread Intro and Hawk Sky Question

Hello everyone, I'm new to the RC world and I've lurked around this forum for a while but now I've decided to join.

I bought a hawk sky a few weeks back and my first flight was great and uneventful. A beauty to fly. However I got cocky and sort of hit (read full kamikaze) a light post doing banking maneuvers. Dusted it off, flew great for the rest of the day sans a bit of the nose. 2 weeks later I went out flying and for some reason I can't seem to get much roll authority from the ailerons. Elevator and Rudder are fine but once it goes up into the air, it doesn't want to roll very much. I have to fly it using the rudder and elevator like a 3-ch.

I'm flying at around 50%-60% throttle. My canopy flew off and got churned by the prop and chewed up by my dog so I wonder if the aerodynamics are off. Could a crooked nose really affect my roll? Do I need to be pushing 75%-85% throttle?

I don't know if anyone has had a similar issue with their hawk sky where the ailerons don't seem to move much with full left and right control input.
aeio540 is offline Find More Posts by aeio540
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 19, 2011, 01:36 PM
REAL old new guy!
United States, HI
Joined Jul 2011
491 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by aeio540 View Post
Hello everyone, I'm new to the RC world and I've lurked around this forum for a while but now I've decided to join.