HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 09, 2014, 11:03 AM
United States, WA, Twisp
Joined Sep 2013
429 Posts
Question
Newb questions on spinners...

Sorry if this is really basic, but I'm new to fixed wing, in the process of building my first, a Multiplex Fun Cub. Just to make matters more interesting, I'm planning on using a 3 blade prop. Anyway, here's my questions, in no particular order .

Do spinners serve any purpose other than decorative?
How do you size them?
Other than weight, is over sized a problem? And what about undersized?
How are they mounted? I'm using a fairly large motor with a short shaft and 6mm prop adapter, seems like the few I've seen that actually show them mounted are on collets.
Can/do they create balance issues, and if so, how do you balance them?
Best material, or is it just a matter of cost/personal preference/availability?
Who's best? I'll leave it to you to define "best" .
And last (for now), do spinners have any impact on prop efficiency?

Thanks for the help and patience, guys. Later.

Dave
daved20319 is online now Find More Posts by daved20319
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 09, 2014, 11:33 AM
USA, GA, Marietta
Joined Aug 2005
5,700 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by daved20319 View Post
Sorry if this is really basic, but I'm new to fixed wing, in the process of building my first, a Multiplex Fun Cub. Just to make matters more interesting, I'm planning on using a 3 blade prop. Anyway, here's my questions, in no particular order .

Do spinners serve any purpose other than decorative?
Yes, they smooth the airflow around the prop hub. By how much....... ?
How do you size them?
That depends on the cowling.
Other than weight, is over sized a problem? And what about undersized?
Over size could be a problem if it restricts airflow to the motor. Undersize probably no problem.