HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Mar 27, 2014, 03:26 PM
Registered User
V2rider's Avatar
USA, MD, Hagerstown
Joined Jun 2009
3,112 Posts
With the power 32 in mine I have no extra weight at all for balance. I'm running 4s 5000ma packs about 1/2-1" from the firewall to get at center of the cg range. The 5000 is a snug fit to say the least so a 3200 - 4000 will give you a little more wiggle room.
V2rider is offline Find More Posts by V2rider
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 27, 2014, 04:04 PM
Registered User
United States, MD, Upper Marlboro
Joined Sep 2012
36 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by V2rider View Post
With the power 32 in mine I have no extra weight at all for balance. I'm running 4s 5000ma packs about 1/2-1" from the firewall to get at center of the cg range. The 5000 is a snug fit to say the least so a 3200 - 4000 will give you a little more wiggle room.
Good info. Thanks.
n8director is online now Find More Posts by n8director
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2014, 06:55 PM
Registered User
Gamerjoe's Avatar
United States, CA, Diamond Bar
Joined Jul 2011
499 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by V2rider View Post
With the power 32 in mine I have no extra weight at all for balance. I'm running 4s 5000ma packs about 1/2-1" from the firewall to get at center of the cg range. The 5000 is a snug fit to say the least so a 3200 - 4000 will give you a little more wiggle room.
I agree with this assessment.

I have the Power 32 in mine as well, and my plane balances well with a 3300mah 4s pushed up against the firewall.
Gamerjoe is online now Find More Posts by Gamerjoe
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 27, 2014, 11:52 PM
Registered User
United States, CO, Aurora
Joined Jul 2013
46 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gamerjoe View Post
I agree with this assessment.

I have the Power 32 in mine as well, and my plane balances well with a 3300mah 4s pushed up against the firewall.
I have a Power 25 on 4S 3300 and I needed several ounces of lead to balance. I agree that a Power 3200 with the same batteries would probably be the ticket.

Dave
Davegenet is online now Find More Posts by Davegenet
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2014, 02:22 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2013
30 Posts
Power 32 is awesome in the Rapper..... she's quick on 4s. adds to the fun for sure. PLUS the 32 balances way better than 25
Pheta is online now Find More Posts by Pheta
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2014, 02:25 AM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2013
30 Posts
Mine flies great on 3200 4s all the way forward. To be honest I wonder if sh'd fly better with a tad bit of weight in the front. No weight needed for 3200 and up 4s
Pheta is online now Find More Posts by Pheta
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2014, 03:12 AM
Registered User
ztied's Avatar
Australia, NSW, Sydney
Joined Jul 2012
59 Posts
Another power 32 using 3300 and 4000 batteries with no extra weight needed

Do it
ztied is offline Find More Posts by ztied
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2014, 09:34 PM
Registered User
United States, MD, Upper Marlboro
Joined Sep 2012
36 Posts
Appreciate the input on motor, battery and CG. A 32 sized motor and 4s lipo it will be! Thanks all.

Next question. The recommended servos (mn48) don't inspire confidence based on what I have read. I don't have experience with them, perhaps they are fine. I do have experience and good luck with Hitec 225's and Hitec in general. Anybody running 225's in their Rhapsody? Drop in, or cutting/mods required? Any other servos you'd recommend vs. the above for this bipe?
n8director is online now Find More Posts by n8director
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2014, 09:50 PM
SlowlyAgingVeryHipOldGuy
jbrowne's Avatar
Joined May 2008
152 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by n8director View Post
Appreciate the input on motor, battery and CG. A 32 sized motor and 4s lipo it will be! Thanks all.

Next question. The recommended servos (mn48) don't inspire confidence based on what I have read. I don't have experience with them, perhaps they are fine. I do have experience and good luck with Hitec 225's and Hitec in general. Anybody running 225's in their Rhapsody? Drop in, or cutting/mods required? Any other servos you'd recommend vs. the above for this bipe?
A little knife trimming is required for the 225'S
The 225's are more than adequate for this plane
jbrowne is offline Find More Posts by jbrowne
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2014, 04:33 AM
Registered User
England
Joined Nov 2005
1,072 Posts
I have 225MGs in my unflown Rhapsody. I'm sure it didn't take too much effort to get them in.
netdudeuk is offline Find More Posts by netdudeuk
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2014, 09:25 AM
Registered User
V2rider's Avatar
USA, MD, Hagerstown
Joined Jun 2009
3,112 Posts
I took an emery board and sanded a mm or two from all the servo slots just to fit the stock mc35's. Might have been able to ham them in there without it, but I didn't want to risk breaking off the servo mounts doing so.
V2rider is offline Find More Posts by V2rider
Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2014, 05:14 PM
Registered User
United States, MD, Upper Marlboro
Joined Sep 2012
36 Posts
Again, thanks for the wisdom. If all that's needed is a little trimming, I'll go with the 225's.
n8director is online now Find More Posts by n8director
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion E-Flite Diamante 25e or Pulse XT 25e VF84Sluggo Sport Planes 19 Feb 25, 2012 11:05 PM
E-Flite lower rudder for E-Flite Cub J3 25E bc-slowflyer Non R/C Items (FS/W) 14 Jul 19, 2011 09:23 PM
Article E-flite T-34 Mentor 25e ARF Review dee-grose Electric Warbirds 54 Jul 15, 2011 03:19 PM
Discussion E-flite ultra stick 25e.....servos? chimmike Sport Planes 6 Jul 07, 2010 03:33 PM
Wanted E-flite Pulse 25e or Mini PnP robtest Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 1 Apr 05, 2010 07:22 PM