HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Mar 21, 2010, 09:22 PM
Sturgis, MI
Joined Oct 2009
55 Posts
Discussion
How hot is too hot for the ESC and Brushless motor?

I checked the temperatures on my esc, motor and batteries the other day after a good run. The motor was 225 deg F, the esc was 140 deg F and the lipo batt was 110 deg f. Was just wondering what temperatures are acceptible? I'm running a 1/10 scale Traxxas Slash, 4 wheel drive, with 3s 25c 5000mah lipos. The ESC is the Traxxas Velineon VXL 3S with the Velineon 3500 brushless motor. Are these temps ok or should I change gearing to keep the motor cooler? I'm still a newbie and the motor just seems really hot at 225...
JLH Racing is offline Find More Posts by JLH Racing
to remove ads between posts
Old Mar 21, 2010, 09:49 PM
I feel the need for speed!
Southern U.S.
Joined Jun 2008
7,086 Posts
225 is way too hot............i try to use the 5 second rule...........can you put your finger on the motor for 5 seconds? At 225 im gonna say about half a second............. Probably as farenheit numbers go, 150 or less outta be ok. Esc should be 120 or less IMO........batts are on the high end at 110*. You need to gear down several teeth on the pinion. If you are at 21 try 18 etc............
scorpion1 is offline Find More Posts by scorpion1
Old Mar 21, 2010, 10:35 PM
Suspended Account
Joined Mar 2010
251 Posts
Most companies recommend no higher than 200 deg on the motor.
Most racers will suggest that BL motors really perform their best on the warm side, 150 as a minimum.
Batteries it's hard to say, as LiPOs run cooler than NiMH and it's hard to compare from pack to pack as a lot of the heat comes from the internal resistance in the pack/cells.

But as scorpion suggested, "use the 5-second rule" as a good rule of thumb for quick checking the motor temp.
mini-Rob is offline Find More Posts by mini-Rob
Old Mar 22, 2010, 02:54 PM
Sturgis, MI
Joined Oct 2009
55 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scorpion1 View Post