HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 07, 2014, 03:32 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Auburn
Joined Jan 2009
829 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supreme Balloon View Post
http://www.dji.com/product/naza-m-v2/download
Naza-M v2 Quick Start Manual v1.26
Read the section on the voltage monitor, it is pretty much the same for V1 and V2.
If your LIPOs are not charged up, you will have a problem.
If they are, then you need to configure the low voltage alerts or turn it off.
ok this board is being tested on the bench ..powering up w/ 5V at M1 ..and a usb connector to the Vsen pins .. there is a separate(besidesnaza assistant window that pops up w/ a low voltage warning ..and battery plugged into the bec is fully charged ..could it be software related problem or regulator out of wack..how do i cure..t this problem..i am afraid to use it ..i purchased this from a guy FPVlabbet ..said its all good ..should i use it ?
pinoydad is offline Find More Posts by pinoydad
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 07, 2014, 05:31 PM
Seattle, WA - USA
mark_q's Avatar
Joined Sep 2003
3,503 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoydad View Post
ok this board is being tested on the bench ..powering up w/ 5V at M1 ..and a usb connector to the Vsen pins .. there is a separate(besidesnaza assistant window that pops up w/ a low voltage warning ..and battery plugged into the bec is fully charged ..could it be software related problem or regulator out of wack..how do i cure..t this problem..i am afraid to use it ..i purchased this from a guy FPVlabbet ..said its all good ..should i use it ?
If the only power to Naza is through a BEC then you will always get a warning. Naza can only sense flight battery voltage through its own devices such as the VU (V1) or PMU (V2).

Most folks do not use the battery sense capability anyway because it is a bit too conservative for most. I have never used it and instead use a telemetry system. It is easy to disable in assistant.

Hope that helps
Mark
mark_q is online now Find More Posts by mark_q
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Zeta FX-61 Phantom FPV Wing
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2014, 09:28 PM
Registered User
Mowee's Avatar
United States, CA, Fullerton
Joined Oct 2013
823 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by pinoydad View Post
ok this board is being tested on the bench ..powering up w/ 5V at M1 ..and a usb connector to the Vsen pins .. there is a separate(besidesnaza assistant window that pops up w/ a low voltage warning ..and battery plugged into the bec is fully charged ..could it be software related problem or regulator out of wack..how do i cure..t this problem..i am afraid to use it ..i purchased this from a guy FPVlabbet ..said its all good ..should i use it ?
the Naza V2 gets it's power on X3 from the PMU.
The center 5v lead from ESC that have a BEC in them should be removed so that it does not feed power into the NAZA motor servo connectors.

As mark_q said it reads the voltage in the PMU, so if you don't have a PMU or UV hooked up the NAZA will always think the voltage is low.
Mowee is offline Find More Posts by Mowee
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 07, 2014, 10:38 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Auburn
Joined Jan 2009
829 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mowee View Post
the Naza V2 gets it's power on X3 from the PMU.
The center 5v lead from ESC that have a BEC in them should be removed so that it does not feed power into the NAZA motor servo connectors.

As mark_q said it reads the voltage in the PMU, so if you don't have a PMU or UV hooked up the NAZA will always think the voltage is low.
aah i see ..thanks ..i put the project aside ..
pinoydad is offline Find More Posts by pinoydad
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 08, 2014, 08:45 AM
It's gone...
_OZ_'s Avatar
Joined Aug 2004
5,146 Posts
Motors won't start and DJI assistant will not recognize controller

Gentlemen, as the title says the motors won't start and I can't connect to the assistant.
I flew it two times on fresh batteries and then installed a fresh 3rd battery. On the third time the motors would not start.
I rebound the Rx, checked all connections, used a different Rx and tried to connect to the DJI Assistant. I can't connect to the assistant and I also can't find any info on what these the LED flashes mean.

This is a Naza-m controller
Tried different cables and ports to connect to the assistant- no change
Tried all flight modes - no change
Tried new driver and different computer - no change
I tried a hard reset and nothing happened. No lights or beeps.
I unplugged the jumper and it does the same thing as what is in the video.

Naza nogo (1 min 24 sec)
_OZ_ is online now Find More Posts by _OZ_
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 21, 2014, 12:14 PM
Registered User
Joined Oct 2014
1 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by _OZ_ View Post
Gentlemen, as the title says the motors won't start and I can't connect to the assistant.
I flew it two times on fresh batteries and then installed a fresh 3rd battery. On the third time the motors would not start.
I rebound the Rx, checked all connections, used a different Rx and tried to connect to the DJI Assistant. I can't connect to the assistant and I also can't find any info on what these the LED flashes mean.

This is a Naza-m controller
Tried different cables and ports to connect to the assistant- no change
Tried all flight modes - no change
Tried new driver and different computer - no change
I tried a hard reset and nothing happened. No lights or beeps.
I unplugged the jumper and it does the same thing as what is in the video.

https://vimeo.com/110719736
Compass error is too big.

There may be a ferromagnetic substance close to the Phantom. Lift the aircraft up about 1m from the ground, if there is no Red and Yellow flashing, then it will not affect the flight.
Otherwise, re-calibrate the compass.
If re-calibration does not work, please connect to the Assistant Software, select the “Tools” and follow the tips to carry out the required operation.
The compass module is defective, replace it. Please contact your dealer.
Winston905 is offline Find More Posts by Winston905
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2014, 12:45 PM
Did You Hear That?
wattnoise's Avatar
Tucson, Arizona
Joined Aug 2003
2,280 Posts
v2 PMU Bad

Disregard - found the problem...
wattnoise is online now Find More Posts by wattnoise
Last edited by wattnoise; Dec 23, 2014 at 03:10 PM.
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2014, 08:43 AM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Flemington
Joined Jun 2012
98 Posts
After the Inspire 1's release, I have been waiting to see if DJI would release some of the cool parts as an additional module for NAZA. One interesting module would be the "VISION POSITIONING SYSTEM" that allows you to stay in one position using a camera looking down for use inside where GPS isn't available.

Anyone have any news on this?
observer is online now Find More Posts by observer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2014, 09:27 AM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bracknell
Joined Nov 2000
12,058 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by observer View Post
After the Inspire 1's release, I have been waiting to see if DJI would release some of the cool parts as an additional module for NAZA. One interesting module would be the "VISION POSITIONING SYSTEM" that allows you to stay in one position using a camera looking down for use inside where GPS isn't available.

Anyone have any news on this?
IMO that's never going to be an add-on for the Naza. It's a feature of the 'next gen.' flight controller (don't know if it has a name?) in the Inspire 1.

'Optical Flow' sensors have been around for years - that's what the Parrot AR Drone uses for position hold (it has no GPS).
Bill Glover is offline Find More Posts by Bill Glover
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2014, 09:58 AM
Registered User
United States, NJ, Flemington
Joined Jun 2012
98 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bill Glover View Post
IMO that's never going to be an add-on for the Naza. It's a feature of the 'next gen.' flight controller (don't know if it has a name?) in the Inspire 1.

'Optical Flow' sensors have been around for years - that's what the Parrot AR Drone uses for position hold (it has no GPS).
Yes, I have an AR Drone and it is very accurate, and cool! It is also easy to incorporate into an ArduPilot. I just wish there was something for the NAZA, it would also act as a pretty good failsafe in the case that GPS signal was lost.
observer is online now Find More Posts by observer
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2014, 12:44 PM
Registered User
United States, CA, Auburn
Joined Jan 2009
829 Posts
yes pixhawk is capable of flow sensor implement
pinoydad is offline Find More Posts by pinoydad
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2014, 07:53 PM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
1,238 Posts
Is it safe to activate Home Lock via a 2 positions switch? Bypassing the Course Lock.
FlyingMcCoy is offline Find More Posts by FlyingMcCoy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Indoor 3d
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2014, 11:34 PM
AMA member since May 2013
Supreme Balloon's Avatar
United States, CA, Petaluma
Joined May 2013
1,446 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by FlyingMcCoy View Post
Is it safe to activate Home Lock via a 2 positions switch? Bypassing the Course Lock.
If it works in the assistant, e.g. shows correct values, then there should be no problem with the NAZA.
Course lock functions when the GPS fails as it just uses the compass for the heading needed. Home lock requires the GPS to be functional. Some of us would configure course lock over home lock for that reason.
Supreme Balloon is online now Find More Posts by Supreme Balloon
RCG Plus Member
Old Dec 25, 2014, 12:17 AM
Registered User
Joined Mar 2010
1,238 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Supreme Balloon View Post
If it works in the assistant, e.g. shows correct values, then there should be no problem with the NAZA.
Course lock functions when the GPS fails as it just uses the compass for the heading needed. Home lock requires the GPS to be functional. Some of us would configure course lock over home lock for that reason.
Got it. Thanks.
FlyingMcCoy is offline Find More Posts by FlyingMcCoy
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: Indoor 3d
Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2014, 05:58 AM
Registered User
Bill Glover's Avatar
United Kingdom, Bracknell
Joined Nov 2000
12,058 Posts
Yup course lock is a great safety net if you get a GPS failure.
Bill Glover is offline Find More Posts by Bill Glover
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New Product GAUI 500x/ GU-INS GPS Owners Thread - Tips, Problems And Experiences sap_2000 Multirotor Talk 231 Aug 05, 2014 05:32 AM
Discussion HoverFly Owners Thread: Pro, GPS, Sport, Gimbal and news Adidas4275 Multirotor Talk 195 Sep 06, 2012 05:45 PM
Found DJI NAZA GPS Upgrade Module for the DJI Naza Flight Controller skyhulk Aircraft - Electric - Multirotor (FS/W) 10 Jul 20, 2012 09:47 PM
Question Question for Spektrum DX8/HF GPS owners Wayno Complaino Hoverfly Technologies 13 Jan 01, 2012 02:18 PM
Discussion Gps owner videos jginsandiego Hoverfly Technologies 0 Oct 04, 2011 06:01 PM