HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Jan 17, 2015, 08:15 PM
RELAX. You'll live longer
Brisbane- Australia
Joined Jul 2007
3,347 Posts
Discussion
Offshore Mono.

Our club is starting an Offshore mono & Cat class this year as a demonstration class. If there are enough entries throughout the year, it will become a fully fledged race class next year.

Well, always up for a challenge I decided to build a wooden mono, as I've never built one before.

CornelP posted some plans of a Wasabi 900 some time ago, & I know he has had some success with the hull.
Although the freeboard is probably a bit low for Offshore racing, I have always liked the look of the hull & thought I'd give it a go, blown up to 44" in length.

See the attached plans at the bottom of this post.

I've made a few alterations.
Firstly I had to remove the ride pad as we are not allowed them for racing here in Australia. I simply just made it a rounded V.

Secondly I didn't use the motor mount frames because I will be making it a twin drive mono. And outrunners at that. Well, if you are going to stuff something up, you might as well stuff it up properly.

So two of these on a 6s pack each will drive it.

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/s...ass_Heli_.html

Here's a few pics so far.

Cheers.
Paul.
785boats is offline Find More Posts by 785boats
Last edited by 785boats; Jan 19, 2015 at 02:39 AM.
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 18, 2015, 09:58 PM
Farmer
United States, CA
Joined Oct 2011
1,046 Posts
That looks nice, is it done yet? jk lol... cant wait to see it on the water!

cheers
f.a.r.m.e.r is offline Find More Posts by f.a.r.m.e.r
Old Jan 19, 2015, 01:08 AM
Joined Aug 2012
145 Posts
Awesome Paul.

I would like to do a 8th mono or cat one day.

Mmmm now how can I hide that from my missus
madracer is offline Find More Posts by madracer
Old Jan 19, 2015, 02:09 AM
Brisbane- Australia
Joined Jul 2007
3,347 Posts
Thanks guys.
Farmer.