Espritmodel.com Telemetry Radio
Old Sep 10, 2013, 10:51 AM
Chess club geek with wings
Brainerd, MN
Joined Aug 2008
1,052 Posts
Help!
First nitro motor

I just bought a used Thunder Tiger 40 Pro off of Ebay...this is my first nitro motor in a VERY long time (last one was 1989!) so I'm a real noob when it comes to nitro.

My question is: What is the best way for me to assess the condition of this motor?

I'm mechanically inclined so taking it apart is not a big deal - I just need to know what to look for as far as signs of abuse. If the motor has serious problems I intend on returning it.

I'm also going to bench test it. I know I need a 9x6 APC but is the "Sport" prop?
Also, what should a non-modified motor tach out at? I believe there are some tuning tricks such as taking out a needle spring - removing the head shim etc that make these motors even faster but I'm just trying to assess if I bought a decent beginners motor.
I intend on getting a brand new motor when I get serious about racing.
Thanks!
blunight is offline Find More Posts by blunight
to remove ads between posts
Old Sep 10, 2013, 11:13 AM
Tampa,Fl
United States, FL, Tampa
Joined Jan 2007
1,470 Posts
APC 9X6 sport prop. Should tack between 15.5-17K RPM's at peak.

Take the glow plug out. Soak the top of the piston with after run oil. With the carb open soak it too. Then. With a prop on. Turn it Round and round. Several times. Put glow plug back in. Turn prop between compressions. Should feel smooth. Compression should feel strong. Put on bench and fire.

On the test stand. I wrap a craft wire through the carb linkage an around the exuast to keep the carb wide open. Open your high end needle rich until you start it. Then you can start closing the needle. Do you know how to pinch/Tune the motor ?
Dale 813 is offline Find More Posts by Dale 813
Last edited by Dale 813; Sep 10, 2013 at 11:26 AM.
Old Sep 10, 2013, 12:41 PM
Brainerd, MN
Joined Aug 2008
1,052 Posts