HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Nov 29, 2012, 01:40 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,141 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letzrock View Post
What size prop for the Hacker A60-5S on 8s?
I am using a Xoar 20X10 Carbon gas prop, which has a lot of power. I may do some experimenting, but this was the first one I tried, and so far I like it....

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 29, 2012, 04:50 PM
Yard Dart
Letzrock's Avatar
United States, TN, Woodbury
Joined Aug 2012
146 Posts
Wow!! how many watts are you pulling with that?
Letzrock is offline Find More Posts by Letzrock
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:19 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,141 Posts
I don't remember, but, I have now set up the logging on my ICE ESC, so, I can post it after the next time I fly it, which will be at least after Monday, as it is raining here and calling for rain through the weekend.....

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:31 PM
Yard Dart
Letzrock's Avatar
United States, TN, Woodbury
Joined Aug 2012
146 Posts
I hate the rain. It's going to be perfect here this weekend sunny and 70
Letzrock is offline Find More Posts by Letzrock
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:45 PM
Registered User
Joined Jan 2010
542 Posts
Is everyone using the stock wing bolts that come with the plane or changing them out for metal ones?
Josef086 is offline Find More Posts by Josef086
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:53 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,141 Posts
I use these Secraft Aluminum and steel ones.... Just for ease of getting them in and out. On all of my planes except the 70" Velox, I red Loctite the shaft into the head. On the 70" Velox, I have found it to be much easier to use blue Loctite to install the shaft in the wing, and then screw the head on when installing the wing.

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 05:54 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,141 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letzrock View Post
I hate the rain. It's going to be perfect here this weekend sunny and 70
Yeah....but we need the rain...

But...go ahead....rub it in!!

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 10:18 PM
Registered User
rogersrick123's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Nov 2008
119 Posts
Area model shipped my Edge 74 today. I'm very excited, I've been flying my PA Katana MX almost everyday waiting for the Edge to arrive. It's going to be a great Christmas. If she fly's anything like my KMX I'll be a happy camper.

This is what I'm going with
4 x Hitec 7985MG
Hacker A60-6xs
Castle Ice 100
Castle Pro Bec
Xoar 20x10 prop
GensAce 6s 5300

I was thinking of going to the Xoar 21X10, but I'm not sure if the ESC could handle the extra load.
rogersrick123 is offline Find More Posts by rogersrick123
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 10:22 PM
Registered User
United States, MA, Lowell
Joined May 2004
882 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by SteveT. View Post
I am using a Xoar 20X10 Carbon gas prop, which has a lot of power. I may do some experimenting, but this was the first one I tried, and so far I like it....

SteveT
What size and C-rating batteries are you using on your setup and how much flight time are you getting?
Neil_SC is offline Find More Posts by Neil_SC
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 10:25 PM
fly low be happy
lb.man's Avatar
United States, CA, Shasta Lake
Joined Sep 2009
140 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josef086 View Post
Is everyone using the stock wing bolts that come with the plane or changing them out for metal ones?
230 flights on the stock wing bolts. The included hardware is top grade.
lb.man is offline Find More Posts by lb.man
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 10:42 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,141 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Neil_SC View Post
What size and C-rating batteries are you using on your setup and how much flight time are you getting?
I'm using Thunder Power 2X 4S 45C 4400mAH and quite truthfully, I wish I had gone with 5000mAH packs as my plane still needed about 3oz of lead under the motor box. I get about six minutes, but I am not easy on the throttle. As I am not that great at 3D, I do tend to fly a lot of high throttle stuff....

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:34 PM
Registered User
rogersrick123's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Nov 2008
119 Posts
Anyone know where i can get a red 76mm spinner that will work with the Hacker A60 6xs. 3DHS is out of stock, and I can seem to find anything like the Extreme flight ones.
rogersrick123 is offline Find More Posts by rogersrick123
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:43 PM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,141 Posts
ExtremeFlight RC...

The red plastic does not match the red paint though. Personally, I like a white spinner with this plane....

See this post....

SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2012, 11:48 PM
Registered User
rogersrick123's Avatar
Canada, BC, Vancouver
Joined Nov 2008
119 Posts
found one at ADC Hobby Store

Thanks
rogersrick123 is offline Find More Posts by rogersrick123
Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2012, 12:09 AM
I fly, therefore, I crash!!!
SteveT.'s Avatar
San Jose, CA
Joined Jan 2008
27,141 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by Letzrock View Post
Wow!! how many watts are you pulling with that?
In answer to your previous question...here is what I had posted right after my first run up....

Quote:
Finally!!!! My Edge is ready for maiden tomorrow!! Had to buy new batteries as the ones I had (4000mAH packs) had puffed, and, I also needed more weight in the nose, so, went with new 4S 45C 4400mAH Thunder Power packs. And.... I ran up the motor today for the first time. On 8S with a Hacker A60-5S (295KV), I got 2335 watts @ 79.35 amps, using a Xoar 20X10 Carbon fiber wide "gas" prop. Some might think this low on wattage, but this is a 28 pole motor, and you can't compare input watts of a 28 pole motor to those of a 14 pole motor such as an A50-14L or a Motrolfly motor. While I didn't check the thrust with a fish scale or anything, I can tell you, when I had the stab pulling against the back of my ankles, it hurt, and I haven't even set my ESC yet!!!
SteveT
SteveT. is online now Find More Posts by SteveT.
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: My hangar...
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Discussion 60 inch edge 540 vs 48 inch extreme flight extra 300 & edge 540 vs 3dhs slick 51 & 59 CRFan1 3D Flying 40 Mar 04, 2012 02:45 PM
Sold 3DHS 41" Edge 540 PNP $225 gonzoman5 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 10 Oct 05, 2011 10:53 AM
Wanted 3dhs Edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 13 Sep 29, 2011 02:19 PM
Wanted 3DHS Edge 540 47" (Red Bull Scheme) SmokeDogg Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 0 Sep 24, 2011 01:58 AM
Wanted 3dhs edge 540 47" (red bull scheme) vhuang168 Aircraft - Electric - Airplanes (FS/W) 2 Sep 08, 2011 10:13 PM