HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 12, 2012, 05:19 PM
United States, CA, Santa Monica
Joined Nov 2012
17 Posts
Discussion
How to identify a good slope?

How do you identify a good slope?

What are the necessary parameters and conditions that make a good spot? Would this be a good one?

I'm totally new to sailplanes but not new to wind (prof. sailor) and happened to be in my old stomping grounds, love walking around here and I think this could be great spot? I've searched on the forums but didn't anything that was straight forward.

Great angles, there's soft beach below, shear drop and serious up draft, just not sure if the landing zone on top of the cliff is acceptable (see pic) and if the wind flow (more than 4kts) is good but there are always birds floating at this spot compared most places in the area that look similar.

LZ, not big, (low trees and taller bushes about 100' inland, not shown):

This is where you would stand:

For years when I go surfing here there would always be birds soaring off the lifts at this specific spot. The whole coast is littered with cliffs at different angles but this is where they love to float.

When I was a younger, we would stand on the edge holding our jackets open as if the wind could pick you up and fly.

There's a precarious slippery trail to the beach that takes 1min from this spot and a much better one that isn't precious that takes 10mins to walk if you needed to get your plane off the beach. The temperature drops near the cliffs, moisture in the air increases and the wind is very dense in spot compared to other places along the cliffs.
macgee is offline Find More Posts by macgee
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 12, 2012, 05:26 PM
Silent Flight
United States, CA, Cypress
Joined Jul 2005
3,951 Posts
Looks like an awesome site. If you are unsure about the landing start with an EPP plane or something that can stand abuse a bit.

-Jonathan