Old Feb 07, 2016, 11:11 PM
Find More Posts by 3rdlaw
United States, NJ, Roselle Park
Joined Apr 2012
37 Posts
Discussion
Futaba Receiver question

I just picked up a Futaba 14SG radio for one of my DJI Hex multirotor.

Just wondering which SBus receiver is recommended for this setup. I have only flown line of site but would like to expand. I have a Zenmuse gimbal and iosd and retractable landing gear. Can someone recommend the receiver I should be using?

There are so many Futaba receivers out there and I just don't know which one I should pick up.

R6303SB, R6202SBW, R6014HS, etc... Some are 59.99 while others are 299.99...

Why would a non-sBus type or receiver such as R617FS cost more than an Sbus type of receiver?

Thanks for your help and recommendations!
3rdlaw is offline Find More Posts by 3rdlaw
to remove ads between posts
Old Feb 08, 2016, 09:32 AM
Find More Posts by ivanc
S.A.D. member
United States, TX, Round Rock
Joined Dec 2004
11,296 Posts
Different receivers for different purposes:

1. The R6014HS is NOT an S.Bus receiver - it is a 12+2 channel receiver and as such is big and heavy (compared to the rest)

2. The least expensive S.Bus receiver compatible with the 14SG is R2008SB.

3. The smallest/lightest non-telemetry and least expensive - R6303SB.

4. The smallest/lightest telemetry and least expensive - R7003SB.

S.Bus servos are more expensive than the standard non-S.Bus servos like the S3004/3004, so in many cases those who have a relatively simple aircraft and a FASST transmitter tend to buy the R617FS making it a desired receiver and Hobbico can keep the price at what it is currently. Almost the same applies to the R6014HS - many are afraid of the S.Bus innovation so when more than 8 channels are needed they'll go for that receiver.

Ivan
ivanc is offline Find More Posts by ivanc
Old Feb 08, 2016, 10:41 AM
Joined Apr 2012
37 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by ivanc View Post
Different receivers for different purposes: