Old Jan 28, 2013, 08:31 PM
2012 NZ Speedcup - 231 MPH
New Zealand, Tasman, Richmond
Joined Mar 2006
2,061 Posts
Question
Budget thermal sailplanes - the good and the bad

Hi,

I have some thermal soaring experience with DLG's and I have also built my own 2M electric sailplane which goes quite well in moderate lift, however I'd like something that performs a little better, esspecially in light or 'bubbly' lift conditions.

I've read a lot of the forums and reviews about the various budget electric saiplanes (Mostly HK offerings) such as the Fox, ASW28, Phoenix etc etc.

I'm more than happy to buy an empty airframe and fit my own components, in fact I don't really trust the ARF servos that are typically installed anyway!

My question is, what would anyone care to recommend in the 2 to 2.5M size? It would be really desirable if the wings were able to be separated for easy of transport.

Many thanks!
DownUnderPilot is offline Find More Posts by DownUnderPilot
to remove ads between posts
Old Jan 28, 2013, 09:03 PM
Joined Apr 2012
2,747 Posts
Hi.

I have a Specter 1800 from HobbyKing and enjoy it very much. Although, if I were to do it again, I would probably go with the genuine Passer-X from R2 Hobbies and wait for a free shipping deal. I don't think there's a great difference in performance but the Specter is a bit heavier and the pushrods and hinges needed some work and some guys have said they found some flaws in the fiberglass though mine seems to be of excellent quality though a bit heavier than the genuine article. Mine even survived a broken prop at full throttle with no damage to the fuse!