HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Oct 30, 2004, 09:58 PM
I Always Fly Inverted
United States, NY
Joined Aug 2004
387 Posts
Engine Recomendations for 106" Aeronca"

Hey guys,

Going to be aquiring a 106" Aeronca already built and covered. Not sure on the Manufacturer or any other details as of now. Do know that it was flown with a 4 stroke. I have some experience with 4 strokes, but would really like to put a gas engine in it or maybe a twin 4 stroke. I have tried searching any "Aeronca" and come up with the Bud Nosen kit. Does anyone else know of anyone else who may have made the Aeronca? I think this plane is also a 2 peice wing design. I want to get into scale and want a nice slow floater but can also handle a large engine for extra power and some fun.... Any suggestions on engine size or what your flying would be great....

Thanks
Chris

Hey BILL sorry for the spelling!
Monstermanhbf is online now Find More Posts by Monstermanhbf
Last edited by Monstermanhbf; Oct 31, 2004 at 11:08 PM. Reason: Spelling
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 31, 2004, 01:26 AM
Joined Feb 2004
155 Posts
Over the years I have seen everything from a Zenoah G-23 to a Homelite 25 to a Quadra 35 or Zenoah G-38 power a 1/4-scale Aeronca Champ. I have also seen Saito or OS 120 singles as well as OS 120 or 160 twins used when the owner wanted 4 stroke power. It's up to you, as the Champ doesn't seem to be very fussy about what powers it!
Bill Hawthorne is offline Find More Posts by Bill Hawthorne
Last edited by Bill Hawthorne; Nov 01, 2004 at 01:49 PM.
Old Nov 01, 2004, 01:37 PM
I Always Fly Inverted
United States, NY
Joined Aug 2004
387 Posts
Aeronca