SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Old Aug 19, 2014, 06:49 PM
Joined Aug 2014
1 Posts
Discussion
Why brushless motor?

Hi guys!
I am absolute noob on r/c world and a new member here as well. I have been through some basic info and have understandings of fundamentals though (motors, ESC, battery, servos etc). I wonder, why brushless motors are used for r/c? I do understand that they run analogue and hence the wavelength can be changed. Is that the reason behind using brushless motors for r/c or something else? A bit more explanation will surely be highly appreciated . Thank you all for your time regarding my post.
mrafaqi is offline Find More Posts by mrafaqi
to remove ads between posts
Old Aug 19, 2014, 10:51 PM
Submarine or Target?
United States, SC, Piedmont
Joined Jul 2013
527 Posts
One major advantage is that there are no brushes to wear out and therefore, no conductive carbon dust to build up inside the motor. With a good quality ESC, there is potential for better low end speed control. I am sure there are other details. There are some people on this list who have extremely strong bias towards one type over all others. The truth is that each motor type (brushed, brushless outrunner, brushless inrunner) has strong points and weak points. Choosing the right one depends on your application, your personal preference and your budget. Don't let anyone convince you that there is only one type worth using. do your research and learn as much as you can from multiple resources.

I personally like the idea of using brushless because of my experience with industrial 3 phase motors. But the first electric boat I am building will have a brushed motor in it. My second boat will be receiving a steam engine.
ericbphoto is offline Find More Posts by ericbphoto
Old Aug 20, 2014, 04:52 AM
Blackpool, Lancs
Joined Feb 2006
3,008 Posts