SMALL - espritmodel.com SMALL - Telemetry SMALL - Radio
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Oct 05, 2012, 12:13 PM
Heli and E-Plane
United States, FL, Ocala
Joined Nov 2010
939 Posts
Is anyone using a helicopter setup on their Tx to control their quad?

I'm interested in your throttle curves.

Could you share your Tx setup?


Thank you!
jer291113 is offline Find More Posts by jer291113
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Oct 05, 2012, 12:14 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Rocklin
Joined Aug 2012
3,413 Posts
I programmed a custom throttle curve for my Tricopter. It uses no expo, but when my throttle stick is at rest, its transmitting 30% throttle. The throttle stick centered is 50% and with the throttle stick full forward its only actually 70%. This makes it very easy to keep my Tri stable and not want to fall out of the sky when I descend, or skyrocket off the ground when I take off

I am using a Turnigy 9X with the ER9X firmware.
AcroFPV is offline Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 12:16 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
13 Posts
sorry i left the project in school. it looks similar to this though.

Kk Single copter (1 min 27 sec)


Quote:
Originally Posted by tech69x View Post
Could you post a pic of that
tim2chia88 is offline Find More Posts by tim2chia88
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 12:20 PM
Heli and E-Plane
United States, FL, Ocala
Joined Nov 2010
939 Posts
Thanks Subaru!
I'm using the same Tx, that's exactly what I want to do.

Are you using aero or copter mode???

Fred
jer291113 is offline Find More Posts by jer291113
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 12:28 PM
Registered User
Son, Norway
Joined Sep 2004
3,356 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by asmallri View Post
So why can't you connect multiple switching BECs together? This is an implementation problem - the switching BEC are missing a final filter stage the remove the error information used by the switching regulator to control turning the drive outputs on and off. Without this final filter stage the error signals of all regulators are connected together and therefore the incorrect feedback is fed back to the switching regulators - the result, chaos reigns.
The ones from Dimension Engineering can be connected in parallel:
http://www.dimensionengineering.com/...Regulators.htm

Quote:
Originally Posted by momofx View Post
It is an instant flip basically. If I go VERY slow on the throttle stick I can see the quad start to lift off on one side and getting ready to flip over.
Checking gyro direction is easy. Take props off, give 50% throttle and tilt the frame in roll and pitch plane. Motors moving down when you do this shall speed up.

Fred
flarssen is online now Find More Posts by flarssen
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 12:31 PM
Registered User
Joined Sep 2012
13 Posts
forgot to add, my kk2 is already with the 1.2 software.

Quote:
Originally Posted by tim2chia88 View Post
hi guys,

im doing a single copter with 4 servos and i was trying to find answers to the following questions:

1. does the P and I LIMIT have to be less than the P and I gain themselves? I cant really tell the difference when i change the limit settings. hope someone can share what the limit does? (i dont quite understand the video when he says it's like travel adjustment)

2. Im using hitec hs55 9 gram servos and i have set my servo filter to 50. what do high and low servo filter values represent? (i could get them to work at 1 - 80++ servo filter values).

thanks in advance to any kind soul. very happy with my kk board
tim2chia88 is offline Find More Posts by tim2chia88
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 01:12 PM
Registered User
Joined Jul 2012
104 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by jer291113 View Post
Is anyone using a helicopter setup on their Tx to control their quad?

I'm interested in your throttle curves.

Could you share your Tx setup?


Thank you!
I fly my KK2.0 on my DJI clone in Heli. On a DX8.
Idle up position:

0: 0-25-50-75-100
1: 15-25-50-75-100
2: 20-30-50-75-100

I use 0 position for regular flying, and was playing with positions 1 and 2, for stunts. Leaving the props to spin slightly to do tighter rolls and flips. Figured it's kinda cheating though.
Creepin22 is offline Find More Posts by Creepin22
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 01:46 PM
Registered User
CO2X2010's Avatar
United States, CA, Hayward
Joined Oct 2010
2,305 Posts
kk2-1.2 esc calibration

Esc calibration menu is not in the 1.2v anymore and I read somewhere here on how to calibrate the esc on the 1.2v...can anybody give me a quick 'HOW TO " Thanks guys !!! Have a nice flying weekend !!!
CO2X2010 is offline Find More Posts by CO2X2010
RCG Plus Member
Latest blog entry: cynr100
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 02:01 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom
Joined Nov 2008
2,034 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by momofx View Post
It is an instant flip basically. If I go VERY slow on the throttle stick I can see the quad start to lift off on one side and getting ready to flip over.

On the KK2.0 v1.2 I do have the Quad X selected, Auto leveling turned off and all other settings are stock. I did calibrate it, calibrate the ESCs several times and also made sure my sticks are going the right way in the receiver test menu. First time I been stuck with rc

Here are some pics of how I have everything wired up (white arms are the front of the quad and its kinda hard to see but ch5 goes to ch5 on the kk board - I was getting it set up for switching the auto level on and off - but left it alone now since it cant even take off lol) ...
Good,
instant flips are usually due to reversed gyros or can be incorrectly connected ESC's
With KK2 firmware, another possibility is that the mixer settings have got corrupted and this could effectively 'reverse the gyro(s)'

Your pics look OK btw

Maybe take thinks one step at a time:
remove all but 1 propeller
arm copter
now hold the copter with one hand and slowly increase Tx throttle to ~30% (<- plz be careful when doing this step!)
it should roughly maintain a constant speed and when you push/twist down the arm with the propellor on, it should increase speed to resist. If it doesn't and immediately mis-behaves, then the setup is wrong
repeat this for the other 3 arms.
Mike Barton is offline Find More Posts by Mike Barton
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 02:49 PM
Registered User
United Kingdom, Scotland, Aberdeen
Joined Mar 2010
794 Posts
Hi Mike,are you going to be doing any work on the KK2,now that it is open plan,Marty.
NEAGRON is offline Find More Posts by NEAGRON
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 04:02 PM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,693 Posts
Broken accelerometer?

Crashed your KK2?

Can't calibrate due to bust accelerometers?

Then you need my latest version of code which removes all accelerometer (self level) functionality.

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showt...7#post22922305

It's been tested with video evidence

http://www.rcgroups.com/forums/showp...13&postcount=4

This won't fix any problems with the gyros (you really do need those) but hopefully will breathe further life into some KK2 boards.
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 05, 2012, 04:10 PM
Registered User
Del-Dredd's Avatar
Near Aberystwyth - Wales
Joined Aug 2004
2,119 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010 View Post
Esc calibration menu is not in the 1.2v anymore and I read somewhere here on how to calibrate the esc on the 1.2v...can anybody give me a quick 'HOW TO " Thanks guys !!! Have a nice flying weekend !!!
The original menu item was only a text description of how to do the ESC calibration, its been removed to free up memory.

Just do the same procedure as previously.

Tx on throttle full.

Connect battery then immediately hold down buttons 1 and 4 (keep holding them for entire procedure)
(some people have to hold buttons down while connecting battery)

Wait for program beep from ESC's then put throttle to Zero.

Get another program beep from ESC's then disconnect battery and switch off TX.

Done.
Del-Dredd is offline Find More Posts by Del-Dredd
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 04:16 PM
AVR Dude
United Kingdom, England, Cnwll
Joined Jul 2011
1,693 Posts
^ No props please. Too much paperwork.....
Steveis is offline Find More Posts by Steveis
RCG Plus Member
Old Oct 05, 2012, 04:23 PM
we dont NEED roads!
AcroFPV's Avatar
United States, CA, Rocklin
Joined Aug 2012
3,413 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by COCO2010 View Post
Esc calibration menu is not in the 1.2v anymore and I read somewhere here on how to calibrate the esc on the 1.2v...can anybody give me a quick 'HOW TO " Thanks guys !!! Have a nice flying weekend !!!
I made a video on how I calibrate my ESC's.

Calibrate ESC's using the KK2 Board (0 min 50 sec)


!!!!REMOVE ALL YOUR PROPS FIRST!!!

My ESC's aren't very loud, but you can hear the beeps.
AcroFPV is offline Find More Posts by AcroFPV
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 05, 2012, 05:31 PM
Heli and E-Plane
United States, FL, Ocala
Joined Nov 2010
939 Posts
Thank you very much Subaru and Creepin22 really appreciate your input!!

Fred

PS - Excellent video Subaru!!! Thanks! Name: thumbsup2.gif
Views: 65
Size: 8.4 KB
Description:
jer291113 is offline Find More Posts by jer291113
Reply With Quote