HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Nov 08, 2014, 08:33 AM
Panama, Colon, Gamboa
Joined Nov 2014
6 Posts
Discussion
Which Rx for the Telamon w/ carbon fuse?

Hello RC Group.
I am new here as of this post and appreciate what you all have built here.
I'm a retired Operating Engineer from Washington State, USA and a diehard RC glider builder / flyer, (mostly slope soaring) . I am now living in Panama, in front of the Panama Canal and like it here very much but there are no slopes here to speak of and I need to fly. Have decided that I must give in and start flying a powered glider although it goes" against my grain" and have just purchased a Telamon Electric Sailplane from Hobby King.
Just ordered it last night so haven't seen it yet but it looks to be a pretty good quality sailplane for the money. However, in the ad they state that you need to use a RX with a long antenna which needs to be mounted outside the fuse.
I understand that the antenna has to be outside of carbon fibre fuse but I have never seen a ( long ) 2.4 Ghz antenna. I have 72 Ghz gear as well and of course they have long antennae but would prefer to use 2.4 Ghz for obvious reasons.
Can someone with a Telamon please tell me what they suggest here ?
Thanks in advance
Fuzzy Fernandez is offline Find More Posts by Fuzzy Fernandez
to remove ads between posts
Old Nov 08, 2014, 09:31 AM
Grow old disgracefully!
Luton, UK
Joined May 2006
1,271 Posts
The antenna only needs to be a few inches long to get outside any fuselage.

You don't say what make radio you are using, but if you have never seen a long 2.4GHz antenna I am guessing Spektrum because many of their recievers only have the short 30mm antenna.
Most makes do longer antenna and even Spektrum does as well - see here:-
http://www.spektrumrc.com/Products/D...odID=SPMAR9310

Dick
dickw is online now Find More Posts by dickw
Old Nov 08, 2014, 01:05 PM
Panama, Colon, Gamboa
Joined Nov 2014
6 Posts