HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Reply
Thread Tools
Old Jun 20, 2013, 06:18 PM
bassmangolf
bassmangolf's Avatar
Independence Mo.
Joined Oct 2009
38 Posts
Discussion
dle 30 v2

I just bought a dle 30cc v2 and cannot get it to run right. I have gone to the recommended settings and can't get it to run right. It will idle but will not transition to high speed? Any idea's or suggestions or should I send it back to Tower? Any help, would be appreciated. I am running a IBEC with the ignition set at 5 volts. I can adjust all the way to 7.4 volts. I am running a LIFE 3200 mah battery on a 1/4 scale 300S. I have some black stuff coming out the tail pipe, I have changed the plug to a NGK CM6 set at .20 I have tried running low needle at 2 full turns all the way to 1 turn? Lost can tune a 2 stroke or 4 stroke glow first time with gas. running pensoil at a 32 to 1 mix. I think I have given all the info I can think of. Thanks Mike
bassmangolf is offline Find More Posts by bassmangolf
Reply With Quote
Sign up now
to remove ads between posts
Old Jun 20, 2013, 07:53 PM
Registered User
Jacksonville Fla.
Joined Mar 2007
2,177 Posts
sounds like a mixture issure to me...start with 1 1/2 to 2 turns out on both needles adjust from there.... gassers like very small changes
jetmech05 is offline Find More Posts by jetmech05
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 02:01 AM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,523 Posts
1st off you want 4.8 volts on that Ign. second you will want both needles at 1 1/2. set your plug gap to the width of an excto blade width about 24 thou
are you running a felt clunk?. I run a 3 line set up.
I'm semi retired so if you want to bring it up I'm only an hour away. I'm pretty sure I can get it going.
kerwin50 is online now Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 21, 2013, 04:42 PM
Registered User
United States, OR, Canby
Joined Aug 2011
2,206 Posts
When you said it won't transition from idle to full speed what does it do? Does it instantly die? If so then too lean, if the LSN doesn't adjust it maybe it has an air leak. Does it bog down and fuss but keep running? Too rich, the LSN should be able to lean it out, if not then maybe the needle isn't seating properly? Did you first adjust the HSN for max RPM?
600Bob is online now Find More Posts by 600Bob
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 22, 2013, 11:08 AM
bassmangolf
bassmangolf's Avatar
Independence Mo.
Joined Oct 2009
38 Posts
when I first fired up after numerous tries to get fuel to it it purred like a kitten and transitioned well. I ran up to roughly 4000 for 5 seconds and then back to idle there was a very slight ping and then only will idle. I just sent it back in for warranty it looked like it jumped time? Very strange. I am running an 18x8 zoar for break in with a 19x8 falcon waiting for break in now going to have to wait for repair or replace? Thanks Mike
bassmangolf is offline Find More Posts by bassmangolf
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 25, 2013, 09:07 PM
Look Up!
gewiens's Avatar
Canada, MB, Niverville
Joined Apr 2008
5,027 Posts
My 30 has been running nice this year till about 2 flights ago. Starting coughing more often then I checked filter, changed plug and it got worse. Floods really easy now and sputters in flight like crazy. I did notice this evening the overflow would drip easily when I just moved the plane around. Any thoughts? FYI, this is a 3month old setup with all new piping.
gewiens is offline Find More Posts by gewiens
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 11:49 AM
Registered User
bigblueswope's Avatar
United States, GA, Loganville
Joined Aug 2012
234 Posts
Is the ignition misbehaving? Or is the ignition battery weak?
bigblueswope is offline Find More Posts by bigblueswope
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 26, 2013, 11:54 AM
Look Up!
gewiens's Avatar
Canada, MB, Niverville
Joined Apr 2008
5,027 Posts
The ignition is powered through a bec getting a constant 6v. Unless it is an ignition Problem itself. I'm going to check all my fuel lines again and get some more fresh fuel and see what happens. Fuel screen was clean also so I'm kinda stumped.
gewiens is offline Find More Posts by gewiens
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 01:49 AM
Registered User
kerwin50's Avatar
winston mo
Joined Oct 2006
7,523 Posts
the constant 6Volts has fried your IGN the dle 30's ign don't last with voltages over 5 volts
kerwin50 is online now Find More Posts by kerwin50
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 08:40 AM
Look Up!
gewiens's Avatar
Canada, MB, Niverville
Joined Apr 2008
5,027 Posts
I was told 6v is the max amount and could run it off of a bec. The actual voltage supplied was between 5.8 and 5.9. Never goes over that. I have a read out on my TX.
gewiens is offline Find More Posts by gewiens
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 09:50 AM
2 Fast 2 Low & 2 Loud
scootrb4's Avatar
United States, CA, Winchester
Joined Nov 2011
3,076 Posts
Kerwin or anyone else,
my DLE ignition is marked "working voltage 4.8-6.0v"
I'm planning upon setting it up with a lifepo 6v battery
Is there a problem with this?
Thanks
scootrb4 is offline Find More Posts by scootrb4
Reply With Quote
Old Jun 28, 2013, 12:17 PM
plank n shankbone pilot
red_z06's Avatar
Dumont, NJ
Joined Feb 2005
869 Posts
Quote:
Originally Posted by scootrb4 View Post
Kerwin or anyone else,
my DLE ignition is marked "working voltage 4.8-6.0v"
I'm planning upon setting it up with a lifepo 6v battery
Is there a problem with this?
Thanks
That is an old ignition module. If it says 4-8-6v, do run it at 5.2v on your IBEC setting. Otherwise it will not last past 75-100 flight mark.

New ignition with DLE mark on it will say 4.8-8.4v which are lipo safe.

If everything else is good and you can't transition to full, then it is starving for fuel as the high does not kick in until 3/4 throttle.


See if you can shoot an engine running video so we can help you better.
red_z06 is offline Find More Posts by red_z06
Reply With Quote
Old Jul 08, 2013, 07:57 AM
Registered User
Tucson
Joined Nov 2009
957 Posts
At recommended factory starting settings, the DLE should be able to get up to at least 80% of its rpms. If it won't get much beyond an idle, then I would start checking everything else around the engine.

1. gas tank stopper made for gas, or is it a black nitro one that is melting?
2. check batteries with a voltage checker
3. physical linkage problem? Throttle servo tightly installed, with enough throw?
4. gas tank vent actually working?
5. throttle servo is on the right channel?

Not sure where else to go, with the information you have given.
wuest3141 is offline Find More Posts by wuest3141
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools

Similar Threads
Category Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Question DLE 30 what for this fuel Tank for on DLE 30 Johnsmith122 Engines 5 Jan 09, 2013 02:18 PM
Sold DLE 30 V2 rear carb. ton2di Aircraft - Fuel - Engines and Accessories (FS/W) 2 Oct 29, 2011 07:22 PM
Sold Dle 30 v2..new sk8teradam2003 Aircraft - Fuel - Engines and Accessories (FS/W) 5 Sep 10, 2011 07:39 PM
Sold NIB DLE-30 V2 with single-bolt prop adapter $299 shipped Super_Dave Aircraft - Fuel - Engines and Accessories (FS/W) 2 Dec 06, 2010 01:16 PM
Build Log Slipstream Sbach 342 26% with V2 DLE 30 viperjody 3D / Fun Fly Fuel Planes 26 Jun 20, 2010 09:32 AM