HobbyKing.com New Products Flash Sale
Old Dec 24, 2012, 05:14 PM
United States, OR, Eugene
Joined Oct 2012
6 Posts
Help!
Steam boiler burner

Hi I would like too know if anyone could help tell me how does this boiler burner works and what do I need too get it to work and also who is the MFG of it,

Thanks
Carlos
alberto69 is offline Find More Posts by alberto69
to remove ads between posts
Old Dec 24, 2012, 05:33 PM
Damp and Dizzy member
Bozeman, Montana, United States
Joined Aug 2003
3,410 Posts
I'm not an expert on old burners, but it looks similar to "blowtorch" style burners. These ran on liquid petroleum (gasoline or kerosine, for example). Saito had a alcohol-fueled blowtorch style, too. They are quite noisy in operation, at least the ones I've seen run.

A more modern, quiet burner, would be a gas-fired ceramic burner. Butane or propane are the fuels I've used. These fuels produce both liquid and gas at room temperature - the gas is taken off the top of the tank for the burner.

The tap for the fuel is on the top of your tank. This would suggest a gas-fired setup. But, if there is a downpipe internal to the tank, it would be designed to pickup liquid.

The valve on the burner is possibly a needle valve to regulate fuel flow. I don't recognize the purpose of the valve on the tank itself. Nor can I make out the filling fitting. Gas filling fittings today are Shraeder valves, that is, the same style as used for tires.

It would be dangerous to experiment with fuels before you know exactly what your system is designed for. So, I'd recommend that you continue to seek advice before fireing it up. The danger is not only in the fire getting out of hand, but also in over-pressurizing the fuel tank, causing it to split a seam and leak fuel. Been there done that, not recommended :-).
Brooks is offline Find More Posts by Brooks
Old Dec 25, 2012, 12:46 PM
Portland OR USA
Joined Aug 2010
98 Posts